Rajasthan Assembly Elections 2018 highlights: Amidst EVM malfunctions and violence between two groups at Sikar’s Fatehpur, an eventful day of polling process came to an end poll-bound Rajasthan. After a slow start, the foot-fall of voters rose to finally freeze at 72.7 per cent. From ministers to erstwhile royals to commoners everyone participated in the polling process. Reports of EVM malfunction emerged from Jhalrapatan (which is the constituency of Vasundhara Raje), Jalore and Bikaner(where the EVM was replaced). The results of the polls will be out on December 11.

The assembly elections, which are a prelude to the final showdown in 2019 for New Delhi, began in Rajasthan today. The battle for Rajasthan is between the Vasundhara Raje-led Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) and Indian National Congress. Reports said that the BJP is contesting on all seats in the state while the Congress has left five seats for its allies. The ruling BJP under CM Vasundhara Raje is certain that the BJP, which is fighting anti-incumbency to retain power, will win the polls in the state. Rahul Gandhi, whose Congress could only claim 21 seats in 2013, had been on an extensive poll campaign in the state and is confident that the grand old party will overthrow the BJP.

Rajasthan Chief Minister Vasundhara Raje voted at a polling booth at her Jhalrapatan constituency in Jhalawar district on Friday. Union Minister Rajyavardhan Singh Rathore and Congress leader Sachin Pilot also exercised their franchise at a polling booth in Jaipur.

According to the EC data, 190 candidates from the Mayawati-led Bahujan Samaj Party (BSP), 28 from the Communist Party of India-Marxist (CPI-M) and 16 from the Communist Party of India (CPI) are contesting the polls. Apart from that, 830 Independent candidates are also contesting the polls.

According to the state Election Commission, the voting began at 8 am and will continue till 5 pm. The Election Commission said that a total of 51,667 polling booths have been set up for 199 Assembly seats in seats with 2274 candidates and 4.74 crore voters.

Here are the live updates of Rajasthan Elections 2018:

Live Updates

This constituency had more footfall than the state average

Pictures from Jhalawar as the electoral process finally concluded. Voter turnout at this booth was recorded at 73.83%

Voter turnout recorded at 72.7% till 5 pm

Voter turnout in the Rajasthan Assembly Elections 2018 reached 72.7% till 5 pm. Since the polling process was supposed to freeze at 5 pm the voter turnout in these elections remain 72.7%.

Rahul Gandhi asks party workers to be vigil

Congress president Rahul Gandhi asked party workers as the polling process reach a coruscating ending later today. He also fired a sarcastic jibe at the Prime Minister saying that in Modi's India EVMs have massive powers.

Congress demands extension of poll time alleging EVM malfunction

Congress has written a letter to the Election Commission (EC) complaining that almost 400 EVMs suffered malfunction in Rajasthan and hence the polling time must be extended. The polling process is scheduled to freeze at 5 pm.

Rajasthan Assembly Elections 2018: 59.43% voter turnout recorded till 3 pm

Rajasthan Assembly Elections 2018: Voter turnout recorded in Rajasthan till 3 pm is 59.43 per cent.

Rajasthan Assembly Elections 2018: 59.43% voter turnout recorded till 3 pm

Rajasthan Assembly Elections 2018: Voter turnout recorded in Rajasthan till 3 pm is 59.43 per cent.

Congress takes aim at PM Modi, UP CM Yogi Adityanath

As polls continue in Rajasthan, Congress spokesperson Randeep Surjewala took aim at PM Narendra Modi and UP CM Yogi Adityanath. Surjewala said that while PM Modi is behaving like Muhammad Bin Tughlaq and Mr Ajay Singh Bisht(Yogi Adityanath) is impersonating Aurangzeb. They are running a Taliban-like government in the garb of democracy.

Violence broke out during the electoral process in Rajasthan

Violence broke out during the electoral process at Fatehpur in Sikar after clashes between two groups at a polling booth set in a school. The voting process was stalled for 30 minutes. Police removed the miscreants post which voting was resumed.

41.53% voter turnout recorded in Rajasthan

According to the information provided by the office of the chief election officer of Rajasthan, the voter turnout in Rajasthan has been recorded at 41.53 percent till 1 pm.

Erstwhile Royals cast their votes

Erstwhile Maharaja of Jodhpur, Maharaja Gaj Singh cast his vote in the polling booth number 194 in Sardarpura constituency. The Maharaja was accompanied by his wife Hemalata Rajye as the royal couple cast their vote.

Union minister Arjun Ram Meghwal casts his vote

Rajasthan Elections 2018: Union minister Arjun Ram Meghwal stands in a queue to cast his vote at polling booth no. 172 in Bikaner.

EVM malfunction reported from Jalore

Voters queued up outside the pooling both number 253 and 254 at Ahor Assembly constituency at Rajasthan's Jalore create a ruckus as EVM malfunction is reported from the booths. The polling process has come to a standstill in the two booths angering the voters.

Ashok Gehlot casts his vote

Congress leader and former Rajasthan Chief Minister Ashok Gehlot voted at polling booth no.106 in Jodhpur. Voter turnout in Rajasthan stands at 6.11% at 9 am.

Telangana Assembly Elections 2018: TRS MP K Kavita queued up for voting

Telangana Rashtra Samithi MP from Nizamabad Lok Sabha Constituency queued up in a line for casting her vote. She is the first female parliamentarian from Telangana.

Union Minister Colonel Rajyavardhan Singh Rathore urges voters to go out and caste their votes

Union Minister Colonel Rajyavardhan Singh Rathore voted at the Vaishali Nagar in Jaipur. He urged all the voters to come out and cast their vote saying every single vote counbts and it is our bit in the process of taking the nation forward.

Rajasthan Assembly Polls 2018: Sachin Pilot casts his vote

Congress Leader Sachin Pilot cast his vote in the Rajasthan Assembly Polls 2018. On being asked about the probable CM face from the Congress he said that they will decide it once Congress wins the majority in the state.

Rajasthan CM Vasundhara Raje casts her vote

Rajasthan CM Vasundhara Raje voted at the Jhalrapatan constituency in the Rajasthan Assembly Elections today. The CM while interacting with the press outside the polling booth said that she is certain that BJP will form the government again. She even slammed JD(U) leader Sharad Yadav for making derogatory remarks against her.