NEW DELHI: The finale is over and ABVP has enjoyed a clean sweep in the Delhi University Students Union (DUSU) elections yet another time. The results were declared on Saturday where ABVP ended up bagging all four seats. DUSU elections are considered to be an important factor for a simple reason that it is believed to be a stepping stone to enter into mainstream politics. (Also Read: 12 signs that show you are definitely a Delhi University (DU) pass-out)
We have several politicians in India today who started their career from DUSU elections. Let’s take a look on some important factors revolving around the DUSU elections. 
What is DUSU?
DUSU stands for Delhi University Students Union that works as an umbrella student organization at the Delhi University. Working for different colleges in Delhi, it works as a representative body for them where faculties of most of the colleges have its own students union for which they contest different elections each year.
DUSU Elections 2015
The polling for DUSU Elections 2015 was held on September 11 and the results were declared the next day on Saturday. A total of 35 candidates were in the fight for four posts of DUSU office bearers while 9 candidates were in the battle for the President post. (Also Read: 10 signs that show you a true Delhiite)
Every year, the fight is largely between the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) backed Akhil Bhartiya Vidyarthi Parishad (ABVP) and Congress supported National Students Union of India (NSUI); however, this year; AAP and SAD were also contesting the elections.
The students’ wing of the Delhi ruling Aam Aadmi Party, Chhatra Yuva Sangharsh Samiti (CYSS) also fielded candidates for various post to check party’s credibility among students.
Key issues to be ascertained this year
Different issues are raised every year before, during and after the elections. This year, the key issues that are expected to be taken up include:
•Roll back of Choice-Based Credit System
•Upgraded hostel facilities
•Right to accommodation
•Strengthened security on campus 
Did the charm continue this year too?
ABVP had swept the DUSU elections last year and the credit was given to the Prime Minister Narendra Modi’s Lok Sabha Elections 2014. The BJP led ABVP has smashed out Congress headed NSUI for all four seats.
Famous Indian Politicians from Delhi University
There is a long list of Indian politicians who started their political career from students’ union elections. Some important names include Congress leaders Shashi Tharoor, Meira Kumar, Sachin Pilot, Krishna Tirath, Ambika Soni, Ajay Maken, Salman Khurshid, Kapil Sibal and Virbhadra Singh. On the other hand, BJP leaders Vijay Goel, Vijay Jolly and Finance Minister Arun Jaitley were also once associated with DUSU. Not only this, AAP leader Alka Lamba, Nakul Bhardwaj and Nupur Sharma too started their political careers with DUSU.