After the Mahagathbandhan recorded a huge victory and defeated BJP in the state assembly elections, Nitish Kumar today for the 5th time was sworn in as Bihar Chief Minister.

RJD chief Lalu Prasad Yadav’s son Tejashwi took the oath as the new Deputy CM of Bihar.

Lalu’s elder son Tej Pratap Yadav also took oath as Minister in the Nitish government. Both of Lalu Prasad’s sons earned the loudest cheers after the chief minister from the boisterous crowd.

12 legislators each of the RJD and JD-U and four from the Congress were sworn in as ministers. Along with Nitish Kumar, Jai Kumar Singh, Bijendra Prasad Yadav, Abdul Bari Siddiqui were sworn as Ministers in Nitish’s cabinet.

Nitish Kumar also invited Prime Minister Narendra Modi to his swearing, but he declined the invitation. Union Minister Venkaiah Naidu represented the Central government in his swearing-in.

Congress Vice President Rahul Gandhi, Delhi CM Arvind Kejriwal, West Bengal CM Mamata Banerjee, Orissa CM Naveen Patnaik, Assam CM Tarun Gogoi, Sikkim CM PK Chamling, Manipur CM O Ibobi, Arunachal CM Nabam Tuki, General Secretary CPI(M) Sitaram Yechuri, JD(S) chief HD Deve Gowda, DMK leader MK Stalin, and Karnataka CM Siddaramaiah were also present in the ceremony.

During the swearing-in, JD-U’s Shyam Yadav was unhappy about not getting a cabinet berth.

BJP ally Shiv Sena also accepted the invitation and sent its representative to the swearing-in ceremony.

The Grand Alliance won 178 of the 243 seats in the Bihar assembly. The Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP), which had hoped to oust Nitish Kumar, bagged 53 seats while its three allies together got five seats each.

(With inputs from IANS)

For all the latest Regional News, download NewsX App