VISAKHAPATNAM: Sitaram Yechury was elected the new general secretary of the Communist Party of India (Marxist) or CPI(M) on Sunday. 

The official decision of the leadership change in CPI(M) was made on the final day of six-day party Congress meet in Visakhapatnam.

Yechury replaced Prakash Karat who stepped down as the general secretary of the party after three terms.

Prakash Karat proposed Yechury’s name for the post at the meeting of the Central Committee. Initially, S Ramachandran Pillai had been in the race for the post.

Sitaram Yechury is the fifth general secretary of the 50-year-old party. 

The party also elected 91 members besides five special invitees and five permanent invitees and Yechury introduced a 16-member politburo.

For all the latest Regional News, download NewsX App