WEST BENGAL: West Bengal Chief Minister and TMC Chief Mamata Banerjee on Thursday renamed six townships in her state on different basis. 

While Siliguru will now be called ‘Teesta’, a big river in North Bengal and Bolpur as Gitabitan, a popular compilation of songs of Rabindranath Tagore, the twin industrial towns of Asansol-Durgapur will now be named ‘Agnibina’, a compilation of poems by poet Kazi Najrul Islam.

On the other hand, Gajaldoba in Malda district will be known as ‘Mukta Tirtha’ and Garia near Kolkata will become famous as ‘Uttam City’, named after the late matinee idol Uttam Kumar.

The West Bengal CM has also renamed Kalyani, a town in Nadia district developed at the time of Bidhan Chandra Roy’s chief ministership, as ‘Samriddhi’.

The seventh satellite township, ‘Viswa-Bangla’ will come up later near the Eastern Metropolitan Bypass in the city to house government employees.

Prior to this, Banerjee had also renamed several stations of the Metro Rail in the city during her tenure as the Railway Minister.

(With Agency Inputs)

For all the latest Regional News, download NewsX App