Chennai : Indian Railways rolled past local challengers Indian Overseas Bank (IOB) 4-1 in a pool B match of the 89th MCC-Murugappa Cup All-India hockey tournament, here Saturday.

Starring in the railways win with goals were Narad, Sandeep Singh, Simrandeep Singh and Vinod Kumar while S.M. Rafeeq struck the lone goal for IOB.

In two pool A matches, CAG drew 2-2 with Mumbai Hockey and Indian Oil Corporation Limited (IOCL) edged past Namdhari XI 2-1.

Veteran and former India star Deepak Thakur scored both the goals for the IOCL while Avtar Singh kept Namdhari in the hunt with a first-half strike.

Mumbai turned back a 1-2 deficit with a last minute goal by Manpreet Singh who had scored earlier in the game while Azam Baig and Chandan Singh scored in quick succession for CAG.

For all the latest Regional News, download NewsX App