The Samajwadi Party on Wednesday claimed victory in Uttar Pradesh bypolls held in Gorakhpur and Phulpur constituencies. Samajwadi Party (SP) secured victory with a big margin in both the districts. Akhilesh Yadav lead party had joined hands with Bahujan Samajwadi Party (BSP) for this Bypoll elections. The combination of SP and BSP has succeeded to defeat Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) in the hometown of Chief Ministers Yogi Adityanath. Samajwadi Party’s Praveen Kumar Nishad, who fought from Gorakhpur received 4,56,513 votes and won by 21,881 votes while SP’s Nagendra Pratap Singh Patel won Phulpur seat by 59,613 votes.

The counting of votes for Uttar Pradesh by-election results 2018 was started early morning and now the picture is clear as the trends are flowing in favour of Samajwadi Party (SP). In the neck to neck competition between SP -BSP, Congress and BJP,  Cycle has crushed everyone. As of now, the counting is going on smoothly and there is no news for any violence or EVM tempering. Following the trends, Deputy Chief Minister Prasad Maurya accepted the defeat and said that they will surely examine the final result and will take lessons from it.   

Highlights: Gorakhpur, Phulpur and Araria by-election result 2018:

20:00 PM: Samajwadi Party’s Praveen Kumar Nishad, who fought from Gorakhpur received 4,56,513 votes and won by 21,881 votes while SP’s Nagendra Pratap Singh Patel won Phulpur seat by 59,613 votes.

17:36 PM— Following the results of UP bypoll results, Chief Minister of Uttar Pradesh Yogi Adityanath said that we accept the defeat in by-elections. CM Yogi also congratulated Samajwadi Party candidate for the victory.  He also added that SP-BSP alliance will become a speed breaker in development for the country.  

17:29 PM— Congress candidates have lost their deposit in Phulpur bypoll elections 2018. 

17:23 PM— UP BJP chief Mahendra Nath Pandey blams polling percentage for the defeat. The party will surely examine the results and work on the low points to strengthen its roots, says Mahendra Nath Pandey.   

17:16 PM— Samajwadi Party’s winning candidate Nagendra Pratap Singh Patel thanked BSP supremo Mayawati for her support and given the credited to Akhilesh Yadav for this huge victory in Phulpur.     

17:08 PM— The counting for Phulpur seat has ended and resulted in the victory for Samajwadi Party. SP candidate Nagendra Pratap Singh Patel has defeated BJP candidate with a margin of more than 57 thousand votes.

17:01 PM— Samajwadi Party’s old alliance partner Congress has also applauded the victory over BJP. Congress President Rahul Gandhi has congratulated the winner and slammed Bhartiya Janata Party.  Congress President said that voters were angry with BJP and they voted for the non-BJP candidate. 

16:57 PM— After the completion of round 31, Samajwadi Party candidate has taken a lead by 57, 148 votes. Nagendra Pratap Singh Patel has got the support from 3,37,683 voters, while Bharatiya Janata Party candidate Kaushlendra Singh Patel begged 2,80,535 votes. 

16:24 PM — SP candidate from Phulpur Nagendra Pratap Singh leading with 47,351 votes.  

16:16 PM— Counting for 28th round completed, SP keeps the lead with 3,05,172 votes 

16:10 PM— Pictures of Samajwadi Party workers celebrating in Agra after the trends flow in favour. 

15:51 PM—  RJD seals Jehanabad constituency in Bihar Bypolls 

15:40 PM— SP candidate Nagendra Pratap Singh Patel takes lead over BJP’s Kaushlendra Singh with a margin of 38,498 votes.

15:37 PM—  Praveen Kumar Nishad holds the grip in Gorakhpur takes lead by 25,870 votes

15:32 PM— SP, BSP took out rally in Gorakhpur after SP candidate leads in vote count  

15:28 PM— Senior Samajwadi leader Ram Gopal Yadav slams BJP after attaining big lead in Gorakhpur and Phulpur 

15:20PM— Samajwadi Party MP Ram Govind Choudhury meets BSP supremo Mayawati    


15:08 PM— #Gorakhpur bypolls SP candidate on a roll, leading constituency with 28,737 votes

15:01 PM—We didn’t expect that BSP vote will be transferred to SP in such manner: KP Maurya, Deputy Chief Minister, UP 


14:38 PM— As the RJD candidate moves closer to victory, Tejashwi Yadav slams Bharatiya Janata Paty for booking Lalu Yadav. 

14:33 PM— Following the trends of #UPBypolls, Chief Minister of West Bengal Mamata Banerjee congratulated Akhilesh Yadav and Mayawati 

14:30  PM—  SP leave BJP miles behind, leading the race by 26,960 votes in Gorakhpur


14:19 PM— Counting for 16th round completed in Gorakhpur, SP leads with 24569 votes

14:07 PM— Praveen Kumar Nishad, SP candidate leading with 2,12,061 votes after the end of 14th round 

14:03 PM— End of 15th round of counting, SP ahead with 23130 votes in Gorakhpur

13:59 PM— Samajwadi Party workers coins new slogan “Bua-Bhatija Zindabad”  

13:56 PM— #BiharAssembly by-polls BJP leading in Bhabhua constituency  

13:51 PM— RJD leading by huge margin of 23,187 votes in #Araria   

13:48 PM— Samajwadi Party leads in Phulpur Lok Sabha seat by 22,842 votes

13:46 PM— Celebrations begin for Samajwadi Party

13:40 PM—Samajwadi Party leading by 15979 Gorakhpur 

13:29 PM—  Samajwadi Party holds the lead over BJP candidate in Gorakhpur 

13:26 PM— Prabhu Shri Ram bhi aapke khilaf hogaye: Sanjay Raut, Shiv Sena

13:23 PM— End of 14th round of counting SP leading with 1,55,314 votes

13:15 PM— Samajwadi  Party has tighten the grip in Gorakhpur    

13:12 PM— #Araria Rashtriya Janata Dal leading with 257180 votes

13:00 PM— BJP is being shown the door by the people: Jyotiraditya Scindia, Congress

12:57PM—  Samajwadi Party extends the lead with 10,598 over BJP at Gorakhpur

12:49 PM— SP candidate Nagendra Pratap Singh Patel leading by 15,713 votes in Phulpur

12:46 PM—  Following the trends of UP bypolls former Chief Minister of Jammu and Kashmir Omar Abdullah has tweeted to back up leading candidates to beat BJP

12:43 PM—#BiharBypolls- Bharatiya Janata Party candidate leading in Bhabua 

12:40 PM—  SP candidate Praveen Kumar Nishad leading with 89950 votes in Gorakhpur


12:36 PM— Samajwadi Party leader Naresh Uttam writes a letter to Election Commission of India, saying district administration is working towards making the BJP candidate win.

12:35 PM—   Samajwadi Party leader Ramgopal Yadav confident about the victory in Gorakhpur and Phulpur 

12:33 PM— #Gorakhpur ByPoll: SP’s Praveen Kumar Nishad leading with 74,077 votes, BJP’s Upendra Dutt Shukla second with 70,317 votes after fifth round of counting.

12:31 PM— Uttar Pradesh Assembly adjourned after the ban over media reporting trends 

12:28 PM— Samajwadi Party caders started celebrating as SP candidates are leading in both the constituency 

12:15 Pm—  SP’s Praveen Kumar Nishad leading with 59907 votes

12:13 PM— Breaking News: Top Gorakhpur Official Bans Media From Entering Counting Centre

12:11 PM— BJp leading by 1749 votes after the end of 10th round

12:04 PM— Araria Lok Sabha seat BJP take the lead, RJD on 2nd position   

12:00 PM— Araria Bypolls- BJP leading with 4866 votes

11:53 Am— SP leading in #Gorakhpur by 1,533 votes after 3rd round.

11:50 AM —  SP’s Nagendra Pratap Singh Patel leading by 12,231  

11:45 AM— Samajwadi Party candidate Praveen Kumar Nishad leading in Gorakhpur by 1523 with 44,979 votes, BJP’s Upendra Dutt Shukla second with 43,456 votes.

11:42 AM—A slender 24 votes lead for SP in Gorakhpur 

11:40 AM — BJP leads in #Araria by over 4,800 votes. BJP: 40567, RJD: 35701

11:40 AM— Samajwadi Party extends its lead to 8,199 votes in #Phulpur Lok Sabha seat after the 7th round of counting.

11: 37 AM— UttarPradeshBypolls: SP extends its lead to 8,199 votes in #Phulpur Lok Sabha seat after seventh round of counting.

11:34 AM —  Samajwadi Party’s Nagendra Pratap Singh Patel is leading the Phulpur seat by a big margin  

11:36 AM—  Bharatiya Janata Party candidate Upendra Dutt Shukla is leading the Gorakhpur Bypoll results by 15577 votes 

(Copy updating…)

For all the latest Regional News, download NewsX App