New Delhi:  The 60th men’s freestyle, Greco-Roman style and 18th women’s National Wrestling Championships got underway at the Indira Gandhi Stadium Complex here on Tuesday.

Railways Minister Suresh Prabhu inaugurated the tournament, being held under the aegis of the Wrestling Federation of India (WFI), which is being hosted by the Railway Sports Promotion Board (RSPB) from December 29 to 31. The last time the Railways organised the meet was back in March 1991 at Varanasi.

The competition will be held in the following weight categories (in kg) — in freestyle 57, 61, 65, 70, 74, 86, 97 and 125, in Greco-Roman 59, 66, 71, 75, 80, 85, 98 and 130 and for women 48, 53, 55, 58, 60, 63, 69 and 75.

The championship is being organised in the national capital after 20 years. The National Wrestling Championships follows the novel Pro Wrestling League which significantly boosted the prospect of emerging wrestlers in and around India.



For all the latest Sports News, download NewsX App