New Delhi: BCCI organized a Press Conference headed by Sandeep Patil and Anurag Thakur to announce the final line up for the Asia Cup T20 and ICC World Cup T20. Captain M.S Dhoni was also a part of the meeting which decided the final line up. The team was announced after the meeting.  
The India T20 squad for World T20 tournament:
M.S. Dhoni (captain & wicketkeeper), Rohit Sharma, Shikhar Dhawan, Virat Kohli, Ajinkya Rahane, Suresh Raina, Yuvraj Singh, Hardik Pandya, Ravindra Jadeja, Ravichandran Ashwin, Jasprit Bumrah, Ashish Nehra, Harbhajan Singh, Mohammed Shami, Pawan Negi.
The squad will remain the same for both the Asia Cup and World Cup and M.S Dhoni will remain captain for both the tournament.
Pacer Mohammed Shami was included in India’s squad for the World Cup T20 commencing next month, the Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) announced here on Friday.
Shami hasn’t played for the country since the 2015 World Cup due to a knee injury. He was named in the limited-over’s squads for the tour of Australia, but was withdrawn due to another injury.
Uncapped left-arm slow bowler Pawan Negi was also picked. The same team would take on Sri Lanka in a three-match T20I series against Sri Lanka starting next week.
Young batsman Manish Pandey, who impressed with a match-winning century in the third T20 against Australia recently, wasn’t named in the squad. Pacers Bhuvneshwar Kumar and Ishant Sharma were also left out.
Batsman Ajinkya Rahane, injured during the One-Day series against Australia, was selected. The selectors also expectedly included star batsman Virat Kohli after resting him for the three-match T20 series against Sri Lanka.
India is in Group B alongside New Zealand, Pakistan, Australia and a yet-to-be-decided qualifier in the premier tournament that is being hosted by India.
(With inputs from: IANS)

For all the latest Sports News, download NewsX App