The 6th edition of the ICC World T20 starts on Tuesday. Here are the players of the Indian qualifying team for the tournament:

Captain of the Indian ICC World T20 2016 squad, M.S. Dhoni, is arguably the most popular Indian cricketer after Tendulkar. He has captained the Indian team to victory in all formats of the sport, with the No.1 Test ranking for 18 months starting December 2009, the 50-over World Cup in 2011 and the World Twenty20 on his captaincy debut in 2007.

India’s most successful offspin bowler, Harbhajan Singh, is the 10th Indian to play 100 tests. Having made his debut in 1998 he has the second highest number of test wickets by an offspinner.

Middle-order batsman from Delhi, Virat Kohli has led the Royal Challenger Bangalore to the finals of the 2009 and 2011 IPL. He was handed the Royal Challengers Bangalore’ captaincy for the 2013 IPL season, with the intention of grooming him as the future captain of India. He took over captaincy of the India Test team in 2014.

Hailing from Bengal, Mohammed Shami Ahmed, enjoyed early success in the Twenty20 format, picking up 14 wickets in his first eight domestic Twenty20 games. He was signed by Kolkata Knight Riders for the 2011 IPL season and made his Test debut in 2013.

One of the only 11 players have scored 1000 runs in a single Ranji season, Ajinkya Madhukar Rahane, is a top-order Mumbai batsman. He international debut in a Twenty20 International against England at Manchester in August 2011 and made his Test debut against Australia in March 2013.

Having earlier played for Sri Lanka, R. Ashwin, came to public notice through the IPL. He has won Man of the Series in the 2010 Champions League and was part of the winning squad in the 2011 World Cup.

Holder of the fastest Test century by a debutante, Shikhar Dhawan, is one of the most flamboyant personalities of Indian cricket. He has played for both Deccan Chargers and Delhi Daredevils in the IPL.

Winning four Man of the Match awards and Player of the Tournament in the 2011 World Cup, Yuvraj Singh, scored 362 runs and 15 wickets in contribution to that victory. He has played for the Delhi Daredevils, Kings XI Punjab, Pune Warriors and Royal Challengers Bangalore in the IPL.

The 12th Indian to make a Test century on his debut, Suresh Raina, is a left-handed batsman, who started attracting notice during his U-19 career. He made huge contributions to the three successful seasons that Chennai Super Kings had in the IPL.

A left-handed middle-order batsman and slow left-arm orthodox bowler, Ravindra Jadeja, was bought for $2 million by the Chennai Super Kings at the 2012 IPL Players Auction, Sunil Gavasker has called him a role model for youngsters and he is known for his strong left arm.

A right-arm fast-medium bowler, Jasprit Bumrah, was added to the Twenty20 International squad earlier this year. He hails from Gujarat and has played for Royal Challengers Bangalore in the IPL.

A Twenty20 specialist left-arm spinner, Pawan Negi, was bought by Delhi Daredevils in relevance to his IPL career in the most expensive uncapped bid in the IPL Player Auctions.

A classical left-arm fast-bowler, Ashish Nehra, played a key role in India’s first Test win outside the continent in 15 years in 2001. He has been a part of the Indian team in two largely successful World Cup campaigns, two Asia Cups, and three Champions Trophies.

An all-rounder who bats right-handed and bowls right-arm medium-fast, Hardik Pandya, is part of the Indian squad for 2016 ICC World Twenty20 and Asia Cup. He made his Twenty20 International debut in 2016, picking up 2 wickets against Australia and smashed 31 off 18 balls against Bangladesh in the Asia Cup 2016.

For all the latest Sports News, download NewsX App