New Delhi: ICC World Twenty20 is a prestigious cricket event which is usually contested in every two years and it is organised by the International Cricket Council. The first edition of T20 World Cup was played in 2007 and was hosted in South Africa. India won the first ICC World Twenty20 competition, lead by MS Dhoni, by defeating Pakistan in the finals. 

Click: England vs West Indies T20 World Cup 2016 Final Match Updates!

Last edition of competition was held in 2014 in Bangladesh which was won by Sri Lanka who beat India in the final. Since 2007 five ICC World T20 events have been concluded successfully and the sixth edition is being played in India from March 11 to April 3, 2016.  England won 2016 T20 World Cup match by runs and Next icc t20 world up will held 2020 in Australia.

Let’s take a look at the list of ICC World Twenty20 winners so far.

ICC T20 World Cup Winners
Year Host Winner Runner-up Final Result
2020 Australia      
2016 India West Indies England  West Indies won by 4 wickets
2014 Bangladesh Sri Lanka India Sri Lanka won by 6 wickets
2012 Sri Lanka West Indies Sri Lanka West Indies won by 36 runs
2010 West Indies England Australia England won by 7 wickets
2009 England Pakistan Sri Lanka Pakistan won by 8 wickets
2007 South Africa India Pakistan India won by 5 runs


Who Will be the Winner of ICC T20 World Cup 2016??    Post your comments!