The extravagant slam-bam festival of Indian cricket, the Indian Premier League (IPL), remains in news for one reason or the other.

Controversies and glamour aside, one particular reason for the extraordinary popularity of the T20 tournament is the exorbiant amount of money involved in the tournament.

Last year, Yuvraj Singh grabbed news headlines for his mega Rs 16 crore deal with Delhi Daredevils last year.

This year, however, it is another stalwart from the Indian batting line up – the in hot form Virat Kohli. The Test team’s captain has pipped his ODI counterpart to become the highest paid player of the ninth edition of the IPL.

We, at NewsX, take a look at the ‘crorepati’ players of the tournament.

Here are the details of purse deduction & actual salary of the retained players for IPL 2016:
Team Player Country Purse Deduction (INR) Actual Salary (INR)
Kings XI Punjab David Miller South Africa 125,000,000.00 50,000,000.00
Kings XI Punjab Manan Vora India 40,000,000.00 3,500,000.00
Kolkata Knight Riders Gautam Gambhir India 125,000,000.00 100,000,000.00
Kolkata Knight Riders Sunil Narine West Indies 95,000,000.00 80,000,000.00
Mumbai Indians Rohit Sharma India 125,000,000.00 115,000,002.00
Mumbai Indians Keiron Pollard West Indies 95,000,000.00 97,000,000.00
Mumbai Indians Lasith Malinga Sri Lanka 75,000,000.00 81,000,000.00
Mumbai Indians Harbhajan Singh India 55,000,000.00 80,000,000.00
Mumbai Indians Ambati Rayudu India 40,000,000.00 60,000,000.00
RC bangalore Virat Kohli India 125,000,000.00 150,000,000.00
RC bangalore AB de Villiers South Africa 95,000,000.00 95,000,000.00
RC bangalore Chris Gayle West Indies 75,000,000.00 84,000,000.00
Sunrisers Hyderabad Shikhar Dhawan India 125,000,000.00 125,000,000.00
RP Supergiants MS Dhoni India 125,000,000.00 125,000,000.00
RP Supergiants Ajinkya Rahane India 95,000,000.00 80,000,000.00
RP Supergiants R Ashwin India 75,000,000.00 75,000,000.00
RP Supergiants Steve Smith Australia 55,000,000.00 40,000,000.00
RP Supergiants Faf du Plessis South Africa 40,000,000.00 47,500,000.00
Gujarat Lions Suresh Raina India 125,000,000.00 95,000,000.00
Gujarat Lions Ravindra Jadeja India 95,000,000.00 55,000,000.00
Gujarat Lions Brendon McCullum New Zealand 75,000,000.00 32,500,000.00
Gujarat Lions James Faulkner Australia 55,000,000.00 51,000,000.00
Gujarat Lions Dwayne Bravo West Indies 40,000,000.00 40,000,000.00


For all the latest Sports News, download NewsX App