London: The list of names as nominees for Professional Footballers’ Association (PFA) Players’ player of the year award hardly has any controversial names. Deservedly, Leicester City’s Jamie Vardy, N’Golo Kante and Riyad Mahrez, Arsenal’s Mesut Ozil, West Ham United’s Dimitri Payet and commonly referred to as the Hurricane, Tottenham Hotspurs and England striker Harry Kane, have comfortably made it to the list.

The Leicester trio have scripted one of the biggest success story English Premier League (EPL) has ever witnessed. Vardy leads the Leicester tally with 21 goals to his name. Mahrez, so far, has found the net 16 times, while Kante has been lauded for his role at the back.

Arsenal may have let go of their advantage at the top and have faced a lot of criticism from the fans. It could have been worse had it not been for Ozil who has single-handedly continued to keep Arsenal in the title race with six goals and 18 assists.

Kane has kept Tottenham in the hunt for their first title in 45 years with 22 goals to his name. The Spurs last won the EPL title in 1961.

Payet, on the other hand, has been monumental to West Ham’s success this season. The Hammers, currently placed fifth, may still manage to qualify for next year’s Champions League if Manchester United falter.

Kane, last year’s Young Player of the Year award, will also look to retain his Young Player of the Year title. However, he has strong competition from England and Tottenham team mate Dele Alli, Everton duo Romelu Lukaku and Ross Barkley, Stoke City’s Jack Butland and Liverpool’s Philippe Coutinho.

Here is the list of nominees:


Men’s PFA Players’ Player of the Year

Dimitri Payet

Harry Kane

Jamie Vardy

Mesut Ozil

N’Golo Kante

Riyad Mahrez


Men’s PFA Young Player of the Year

Dele Alli

Harry Kane

Jack Butland

Philippe Coutinho

Romelu Lukaku

Ross Barkley


Women’s PFA Players’ Player of the Year

Beth Mead

Gemma Davison

Hedvig Lindahl

Izzy Christiansen

Ji So-Yun


Women’s PFA Young Player of the Year

Beth Mead

Danielle Carter

Hannah Blundell

Keira Walsh

Nikita Parris


The 43rd PFA Awards will be held in the Grosvenor House in London on Sunday April 24 2016.

For all the latest Sports News, download NewsX App