London: David de Gea might have a reason to celebrate. The Manchester United stopper is in race with Arsenal’s Petr Cech, Leicester City’s Kasper Schmeichel and Manchester City’s Joe Hart for the English Premier League Golden Glove Award, the results for which will be declared on Sunday, May 15. 

The Spaniard is tied with the above mentioned goalkeepers on 15 clean sheets in the English Premier League (EPL) this season, his latest being United’s 1-0 win at Norwich City on Saturday.

De Gea remains in a better position than others to win the award, given he has two more matches to play this season while the others have just one each remaining. Louis van Gaal’s United are still to play against West Ham and Bournemouth while Cech is set to face Aston Villa, Schmeichel against Chelsea and Hart finishing against Swansea City.

David de Gea has been instrumental in keeping alive Manchester United’s hopes of finishing in the top four and qualifying for the Champions League. The Red Devils have otherwise had a rough year struggling to find form, also drawing a lot of criticism and calls for sacking of the Dutch man.

The former Atletico Madrid stopper who moved to Old Trafford in 2011 is yet to win the Golden Glove during his stint with United. The last goalkeeper to win the award was Edwin van der Sar who kept 21 clean sheets in the 2008/09 season. De Gea has, however, been named in the PFA Team of the Year on three occasions.

Petr Cech, on the other hand, could create a record, if he manages to lay his hands on the award. He will become the first goalkeeper to win the Premier League Golden Glove with two different teams. Cech won in 2013-14 while he was with Chelsea.

In case of a tie, the trophy will be shared.

Premier League Golden Glove winners
Season Player Nationality Club Clean sheets
2004–05 Cech, Petr  Czech Republic Chelsea 21
2005–06 Reina, Pepe  Spain Liverpool 20
2006–07 Reina, Pepe  Spain Liverpool 19
2007–08 Reina, Pepe  Spain Liverpool 18
2008–09 van der Sar, Edwin  Netherlands Manchester United 21
2009–10 Cech, Petr  Czech Republic Chelsea 17
2010–11 Hart, Joe  England Manchester City 18
2011–12 Hart, Joe  England Manchester City 17
2012–13 Hart, Joe  England Manchester City 18
2013–14 Cech, Petr  Czech Republic Chelsea 16
2013–14 Szczęsny, Wojciech  Poland Arsenal 16
2014–15 Hart, Joe  England Manchester City 14