New Delhi: The Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) on Monday (May 23) named a young 16-member squad, which will be led by MS Dhoni, for India’s tour of Zimbabwe starting June 11.

Royal Challengers Bangalore duo of wicketkeeper-batsman KL Rahul and leggie Yuzvendra Chahal and Delhi Daredevils batsman Karun Nair are amongst the six uncapped players who received their maiden call-up for the limited-over series after a fruitful season in the Indian Premier League.

While Dhoni will take charge of the squad, all the other big stars, including Virat Kohli, Rohit Sharma, Shikhar Dhawan amongst others, have been given a much-deserved break before the start of the four-Test series in West Indies.

RCB’s KL Rahul has been amongst the consistent scorers for the team with 386 runs from 10 innings, four of which have been scores of fifty-plus. Daredevils’ Karun Nair’s tally reads 357 runs in 12 outings for the Delhi team.

Chahal, on the other hand, finished the league stages as the leading wicket-taker with 19 scalps from 11 games he featured in.

Meanwhile, Shardul Thakur received his maiden call-up for the succeeding Test series in the Caribbean Islands. The selectors have otherwise picked a full-strength 17-member squad for the conventional format, to be led by Kohli. Ajinkya Rahane has been named his deputy.

Team India is slated to play three One-Day Internationals (ODIs) and as many Twenty20 Internationals in Zimbabwe before heading to West Indies, the schedule of which is yet to be announced.



Limited-overs squad for Zimbabwe series: MS Dhoni (Captain), KL Rahul, Faiz Fazal, Manish Pandey, Karun Nair, Ambati Rayudu, Rishi Dhawan, Axar Patel, Jayant Yadav, Jasprit Bumrah, Barinder Sran, Mandeep Singh, Kedar Jadhav, Jaydev Unadkat, Yuzvendra Chahal.



For all the latest Sports News, download NewsX App