New Delhi: The recent T-20 World Cup winners, West Indies have failed to qualify for the upcoming Champions Trophy for the first time since the tournament commenced in 1998. 
Based on the ICC ODI rankings, top 8 teams participate in the tournament, and West Indies as per the rankings of September 2015 (which are to be considered for the qualification) were at the 9th position, below Pakistan and Bangladesh, due to which the Caribbeans have lost the right to play in the second biggest tournament in cricket after the ICC Cricket World Cup. 
2015 had been quite frustrating for the West Indies as a proposed tri-series between West Indies, Pakistan and Zimbabwe was dismissed by Pakistan and this cost the Caribbeans a downfall in the ICC ODI rankings. Pakistan after a series win over Sri Lanka got an advantageous position in the rankings. As a result of this, the West Indians have been denied a chance of securing a berth in the 2017 Champions Trophy.
The 2017 Champions Trophy will be an 18-day tournament consisting of  the top 8 ODI teams — India, Australia, New Zealand, England, Sri Lanka, Pakistan, Bangladesh, South Africa. 
A total of 15 matches will be played during the tournament. The matches will be played either at Wales Stadium in Cardiff, Edgbaston in Birmingham or The Oval in London. The 8 teams will be divided into two groups, with all teams in a group meeting each other twice. The top two teams from the groups will advance to the semi-final and final.

For all the latest Sports News, download NewsX App