Rio De Janeiro: The International Olympic Committee (IOC) has elected two new vice presidents at its 129th session here on Thursday.
Juan Antonio Samaranch Jr. of Spain, son of former Olympics chief Juan Antonio Samaranch and Ugur Erdener from Turkey will replace outgoing vice presidents Nawal El Moutawakel of Morocco and Sir Craig Reedie from Britain, the IOC said in a statement, Xinhua reported.
Five new and returning IOC members will also be joining the Executive Board: Gian Franco Kasper, Angela Ruggiero, Sergey Bubka, Ser Miang Ng, and Willi Kaltschmitt.
Ching-Kuo Wu and Patrick Hickey are resuming their seats as representatives of the Association of Summer Olympic International Federations (ASOIF) and the Association of National Olympic Committees (ANOC) respectively.
The new Chair of the IOC Athletes’ Commission, Angela Ruggiero, replaces outgoing Chair Claudia Bokel, following the elections earlier this week. The newly composed EB will begin its work after the Olympic Games Rio 2016 which open on Friday. 

For all the latest Sports News, download NewsX App