New Delhi: Olympian Sajan Prakash of Railways set a new national record to win gold in the 200m Butterfly senior men’s category on the second day of 70th Glenmark Senior National Aquatic Championship here on Sunday.
Prakash, the first Indian to break the 2 minute barrier in the category, clocked a time 01:59.35, followed by team mate Supriyo Mondal who clocked 02:03.42.
Manoj Mitesh, representing Services, won bronze with a time of 02:07.04.
Monique Gandhi got Maharashtra the perfect start on Day 2 winning the gruelling 1500m Freestyle with a time of 18:21.13 beating Shruti Mahalingam from Tamil Nadu (18:21.53) while the bronze was picked up by her state-mate P.M. Abhishikta (18:43.59).
In the 4*100m relay event, Maharashtra won gold with a time of 04:36.31, pushing Karnataka (04:38.33) to the second spot and Gujarat (04:41.41) to third.
Damini Gowda of Karnataka dominated the the 200m Butterfly race, winning the gold with a time of 02:21.99, followed by Trisha Karkhanis won silver (02:27.94) while Shishti Nag of Chattisgarh won bronze with a time of 02:28.11.

For all the latest Sports News, download NewsX App