Chennai: After hitting back-to-back boundaries with the second new ball Moeen Ali ended the first day of the fifth and final Test at the MA Chidambaram Stadium in style.

 At stumps England managed to put up a score of 281/4 in 90 overs. 

Earlier, England started their ininings post tea with Moeen Ali in cruise control. He managed to score his 5th century while Ravindra Jadeja took his third wicket of the day.

India cotinued with the first ball till tea and ended the first day of the match with the second new ball.

A good DRS review taken by Ravindra Jadeja, finally broke England’s firm 146-run partnership between Root and Ali.

England lost Joe Root who made a steady 88 when he went for a slog on a fullish delivery and managed to get a faint under edge.

Jadega convinced Captain Kohli  for the review and Root got his macrhing orders.
The visitors were 182/3 at tea. 
Indian bowlers struck early blows as England posted 68/2 at lunch on the first day of the fifth and final cricket Test here on Friday.
Joe Root (44) and Moeen ALi (7) were at the crease at the break.
Pacer Ishant Sharma struck the first blow for the hosts by sending back the in-form Keaton Jennings.
Left-arm spinner Ravindra Jadeja continued his excellent record against Alistair Cook, inducing an outer edge from the England captain that was snapped up by his Indian counterpart Virat Kohli in the slips.
Brief scores:
England: 68/2 (Joe Root batting, Ishant Sharma 1-5, Ravindra Jadeja 1-12) vs India.
England skipper Alastair Cook won the toss and elected to bat.

Jayant Yadav who is injured is being rested for this match. Leg spinner Amit Mishra has replaced him. 

Ishant Sharma too has been replaced by Bhuvneshwar Kumar.

In the England squad seam bowler Stuart Broad is back and they also have Liam Dawson making  his Test debut, while James Anderson and Chris Woakes will miss out the final Test.

India have already won the series but England will try to bitter the celebration by salvaging some pride in Chennai.

Murali Vijay, Lokesh Rahul, Cheteshwar Pujara, Virat Kohli (captain), Karun Nair, Parthiv Patel (wicketkeeper), Ravichandran Ashwin, Ravindra Jadeja, Amit Mishra, Umesh Yadav, Ishant Sharma.
Alastair Cook (captain), Keaton Jennings, Joe Root, Moeen Ali, Ben Stokes, Jonny Bairstow (wicketkeeper), Jos Buttler, Adil Rashid, Stuart Broad, Liam Dawson, Jake Ball.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

For all the latest Sports News, download NewsX App