After enjoying a triumphant 2016 with Bayern Munich, star striker Robert Lewandowski has been named ‘Polish Footballer of the Year’ for the sixth time in succession.

The 28-year-old prolific striker took the spoils by beating off his Polish counterparts Kamil Glik, Grzegorz Krychowiak, Arkadiusz Milik and Michal Pazdan to lift the prestigious trophy for the sixth time.

Lewandowski hugely contributed in Bayern’s domestic success by scoring in double figures as he was crowned German Bundesliga top scorer.

In Euro 2016, Lewa scored once in five appearances, taking Poland into quarters when eventual winners Portugal knocked them out in a penalty shoot-out.

“I am delighted that I have again managed to win the award for the player of the year,” the Polish striker said in a statement.

He tweeted alongside an image of him with the award: