Kuala Lumpur : The Badminton World Federation (BWF) turned 81 on Sunday, celebrating the anniversary of the founding of the sport’s governing body.

Founded as the International Badminton Federation (IBF) on July 5, 1934, the organisation began with nine inaugural members — Canada, Denmark, England, France, Ireland, Netherlands, New Zealand, Scotland and Wales — and has blossomed to a 182-member association today.

In June 2005, the IBF headquarters moved from England to the Malaysian capital and a year later the IBF was re-christened as the BWF.

George Thomas of England was the first IBF president, serving 21 years — the longest term of anyone in that capacity. Since May 2013, Poul-Erik Høyer of Denmark has led the BWF with Peru’s Gustavo Salazar Delgado as deputy president. Thomas Lund is the BWF secretary general.

For all the latest Sports News, download NewsX App