The BWF Badminton World Championships are scheduled to begin from 21st of August in Glasgow, Scotland. The 7-day long tournament will have the top shuttlers from around the world having a short at badminton glory.

India recently announced itself in the latest BWF rankings with a total of 7 Indian men shuttlers in the top 50 of BWF men singles category. Indian Badminton Federation (IBF) has selected a 21-member squad to represent the Indian challenge at the Glasgow championships.

Among the 21 squad members 5th ranked P.V Sindhu in women’s category and 8th Ranked Kidambi Srikanth are the two top seeded Indians going into the tournament. Both Sindhu and Srikanth are tipped for a top finish after the duo got byes in the first round of their respective categories. The byes in their first round would mean the two will now gain direct entries into the pre-quarterfinals.

Apart from Sindhu and Kidambi Srikanth spearheading the attack, Indian challenge will have a stronger impact through its most experienced shuttler Saina Nehwal who returns to the court after recovering from her latest shoulder injury.

Out of four Indian shuttlers in the men’s singles category, Kidambi Srikanth (World rank- 8), Ajay Jayaram (World rank- 16), B Sai Praneeth (World rank- 19) are the three seeded. Sameer Verma ranked 28th is the only unseeded player in the men singles category.

Meanwhile in Women’s singles category Rio Olympic silver medallist P.V Sindhu is seeded 4th while Saina Nehwal has got 12th seeding.

Pranav Jerry Chopra and N Sikki Reddy will represent India in the mixed doubles category, they are seeded 15th.

 Here is the full Indian squad:


Men’s singles

Srikanth Kidambi (8)

Ajay Jayaram (16)

B Sai Praneeth (19)

Sameer Verma (28)


Women’s singles

 PV Sindhu (5)

Saina Nehwal (16)

Rituparna Das (46)

Tanvi Lad (91)


Men’s doubles

Manu Attri and Sumeeth Reddy (31)

Satwiksairaj Rankireddy and Chirag Shetty (37)

Shlok Ramchandran and MR Arjun (41)


Women’s doubles

Ashwini Ponnappa and N Sikki Reddy (25)

Sanjana Santosh and Arathi Sara Sunil (38)

Meghana Jakkampudi and Poorvisha S Ram (41)


Mixed doubles

Pranaav Jerry Chopra and N Sikki Reddy (20)

B Sumeeth Reddy and Ashwini Ponnappa (55)

Satwiksairaj Rankireddy & K Maneesha (76)

 Coach Pullela Gopichand is included in the seven member coaching staff alongside veteran Jwala Gutta, Vimal Kumar, Mulyo Handoyo, Tan Kim Her, Pradnya Gadre and Hariawan

For all the latest Sports News, download NewsX App