Continuing their unbeaten Test streak in 2017, Indian cricket team defeated hosts Sri Lanka by an innings and 171 runs to clean sweep the series 3-0 at the Pallekele International Cricket Stadium here on Monday.

Riding on superb bowling performances of Pacer Mohammad Shami and spinner Ravichandran Ashwin India first enforced follow-on on the amateur Lankan side, who found it hard to keep their balance amid lethal Indian bowling strike.

Lankans were again outplayed in the second innings where they fell 171 short of the target and had to settle for a bitter clean sweep.
Chasing the first innings deficit of 352 runs, Sri Lanka were bowled out for 181 in the second innings.

For India, off-spinner Ravichandran Ashwin grabbed four wickets and pacer Mohammad Shami three.

Starting at the overnight score of 19/1, Sri Lanka were off a horrible start, losing three wickets within the first hour of play. The hosts were reduced to 39/4 before Chandimal and Mathews started their fight back.

This is the first ever instance that the entire Sri Lankan top order has been dismissed within 50 runs in both innings of a Test match against India.

The hosts suffered their first jolt in the third over of the day when overnight batsman Dimuth Karunaratne was outfoxed by the extra bounce of an Ashwin delivery. The ball brushed the gloves before being caught by Ajinkya Rahane in the slips.

Malinda Pushpakumara patiently battled 32 deliveries for his one run before being caught behind off Shami’s bowling. The right-hander was repeatedly beaten outside the off-stump by Shami, by managed to survive somehow.

His luck finally ran out when he came on the front foot to a fuller length delivery on the off-stump line, only to see the ball knick the outside edge of the bat on its way into the gloves of Indian wicket-keeper Wriddhiman Saha.

Shami then sent back Kusal Mendis in his next over to put the Sri Lankans in deep trouble.

Earlier, India won the first match by 304 runs and then thrashed the hosts by an innings and 53 runs in the second match.

The following is the final scoreboard of the third and final cricket Test between India and Sri Lanka at the Pallekele International Cricket Stadium here on Monday:

India 1st Innings: 487 all out

Sri Lanka 1st innings: 135 all out

Sri Lanka 2nd innings
Dimuth Karunaratne c A Rahane b Ashwin 16
Upul Tharanga b Umesh 7
Malinda Pushpakumara c Saha b Shami 1
Kusal Mendis lbw b Shami 12
Dinesh Chandimal c Pujara b Kuldeep Yadav 36
Angelo Mathews lbw b Ashwin 35
Niroshan Dickwella c A Rahane b Umesh 41
Dilruwan Perera c Hardik Pandya b Ashwin 8
Lakshan Sandakan c Saha b Shami 8
Vishwa Fernando not out 4
Lahiru Kumara b Ashwin 10

Extras 3 (b 2, lb 0, w 0, nb 1, p 0) 181 all out

Fall of wickets: 15-1 (Upul Tharanga, 10.4), 26-2 (Dimuth Karunaratne, 15.3), 34-3 (Malinda Pushpakumara, 20.2), 39-4 (Kusal Mendis, 22.5), 104-5 (Dinesh Chandimal, 50.3), 118-6 (Angelo Mathews, 53.6), 138-7 (Dilruwan Perera, 59.3), 166-8 (Lakshan Sandakan, 68.3), 168-9 (Niroshan Dickwella, 69.5), 181-10 (Lahiru Kumara, 74.3).

Mohammed Shami 15-6-32-3
Ravichandran Ashwin 28.3-6-68-4
Umesh Yadav 13-5-21-2-
Kuldeep Yadav 17-4-56-1
Hardik Pandya 1-0-2-0