On the Day 1 of Nottingham between England and India, Virat Kohli and men ended the day’s play with a reputed score 307 with loss of six wickets. Thanks to skippers Virat Kohli and Ajinkya Rahane’s super knock, which rescued team India from a trouble, when India had lost the top order early. Kohli and Rahane together collected 159 runs, which lead the team towards a good total. Virat Kohli scored 97 runs before falling to Adil Rashid. Middle-order batsman Ajinkya Rahane hit 81 runs off 131 balls with 12 boundaries. The last man to fall was Hardik Pandya (18), while Rishab Pant (22*) will continue batting on the Day 2. 

Earlier the day, till the tea break, captain Kohli scored not out 53 runs and Rahane has been playing on 57 runs. Slowly but steadily both the batsmen have succeeded to build up a good partnership and marked 189 runs on the board till tea on the Day 1.  

The story of struggle continues for India continued as openers went back early. Opener Shikhar Dhawan (35) and Lokesh Rahul (23) were dismissed early. While number 3 batsman Cheteshwar Pujara was caught on 14 runs. English pacer Chris Woakes, who has been a headache for Virat Kohli and men, continued his outstanding performance and dismissed the Indian top order before the lunch on Day 1.  

Earlier the day, English captain Joe Root won the toss and opted to bowl first. India skipper Virat Kohli made a few changes in the squad for the Nottingham test as wicketkeeper-batsman Rishabh Pant is making his Test debut today. Pant came in place of Dinesh Karthik, who has been struggling with the bat against England. Once again England captain implemented the same strategy and invited India to bat first. While visitors will be looking for a comeback and bag the match. As per the media reports, captain Kohli has also recovered from his back problem and is expected to lead the team in his signature aggressive manner will try to win the Trent test.

England Playing XI: Alastair Cook, Keaton Jennings, Joe Root (c), Ollie Pope, Jonny Bairstow (wk), Ben Stokes, Jos Buttler, Chris Woakes, Adil Rashid, Stuart Broad, James Anderson

India Playing XI: Shikhar Dhawan, Lokesh Rahul, Cheteshwar Pujara, Virat Kohli (c), Ajinkya Rahane, Rishabh Pant (wk), Hardik Pandya, Ravichandran Ashwin, Mohammed Shami, Ishant Sharma, Jasprit Bumrah

For all the latest Sports News, download NewsX App