It was a sad Monday evening for football fans across the world when the referee blew his final whistle in the second leg of World Cup qualifier between Italy and Sweden. Sweden managed to hold the star-studded Italian team at San Siro and eventually came out winners on aggregate and Italy was out of the FIFA World Cup that is to held in Russia in 2018. But Italy is not the only top football playing country that will miss the football World Cup, Netherlands also suffered the same fate earlier in October.

The FIFA World Cup 2018 will not be the same without the star power of Italy and Netherlands but there are still several other nations participating in it. The World Cup Qualifiers are coming to a close and out of the 32 teams that are to participate in the football tournament, 29 have secured their berth already. Although the remaining 3 teams are yet to be decided through competitive games, we bring you all the information on the World Cup and qualified teams.

Football’s biggest showdown will commence on June 14, 2018 and the hosts Russia will play the first game against a yet to be decided opponent at Luzhniki Stadium. The inaugural day of the football World Cup will see only one match played while the following days will have at least three games every day throughout the duration of the group stages. The entire tournament will be played across 12 stadiums in 11 cities of Russia.

A large part of the teams has sailed through the World Cup qualification round who will now travel to Russia to take part in the tournament. The groups for the World Cup Russia will be drawn on December 1, 2017 in Moscow by FIFA officials. Here’s the list of qualified teams:

  1. Argentina
  2. Brazil
  3. Uruguay
  4. Colombia
  5. Panama
  6. Costa Rica
  7. Mexico
  8. Germany
  9. Spain
  10. England
  11. Belgium
  12. France
  13. Portugal
  14. Croatia
  15. Sweden
  16. Poland
  17. Serbia
  18. Iceland
  19. Switzerland
  20. Russia
  21. Iran
  22. Japan
  23. Saudi Arabia
  24. South Korea
  25. Morocco
  26. Nigeria
  27. Egypt
  28. Tunisia
  29. Senegal
  30. CONMEBOL fifth place vs OFC first place play-off
  31. AFC fifth place vs CONCACAF fourth place play-off
  32. UEFA second-place play-off winners

For all the latest Sports News, download NewsX App