India comfortably defeated Bangladesh in the 5th T20I of the Nidahas Trophy 2018 with the help of all-round efforts from the batsmen and the bowlers. Despite Mushfiqur Rahim’s brilliant efforts with the bat the tie will the end remained in India’s favour as Washington Sundar bowled effective spin capitalising on a sluggish track to keep the opposition batsmen at bay. Bangladesh had a disappointing start to the innings and kept losing wickets at regular intervals to let India take control of the match. They lost their first four wickets inside 71 runs and it was always going to be tough for them to catch up with the run rate.

Washington Sundar drew the first blood for India when he sent back Liton Das in the second over of the match with the help of some superb glove work from Dinesh Karthik from behind the stumps. He then went on to ran havoc on the top order and scalped three wickets in succession. After getting Liton, Sundar cleaned up Soumya Sarkar and then sent back Tamim Iqbal, as he looked to accelerate his innings. Shabbir Rahman and Mushfiqur Rahim picked up the lost momentum and tried to turn the fortune for Bangladesh but their 65 run partnership couldn’t do enough to get one over gritty Indians who would now play the final against one out of Lanka or Bangladesh on Sunday, March 18 in Colombo. 

Highlights of India vs Bangladesh T20I, Nidahas Trophy from R Premadasa Stadium, Colombo

20:45 PM IST: India – 176/3 ( 20 overs) Rohit – 89, Raina – 47

After Raina on the first ball, Rubel dismisses Rohit on the last delivery of the final over of the innings to restrict India on 176/3 in 20 overs. Brilliant effort from the Indian top order to put up a respectable total on board now the onus is on the bowlers to deliver an impactful performance and win it for India. 

20:32 PM IST: India – 161/1 ( 18 overs) Rohit – 79, Raina – 45

Will Raina complete his fifty first or would it be a century for the Indian captain Rohit Sharma? Solid batting from the right-hand left-hand duo as they thrash Abu Hider for 21 runs in a single over. Sensational batting fromn India. 180 doesn’t look a far target from here. 

20:24 PM IST: India -140/1 ( 17 overs) Rohit – 66, Raina – 37

Raina has paced up the Indian inning s a bit as India target a total close to 170-80 with 9 wickets at hand. 36 runs in the last three overs with Raina racing towards a fifty. 14 runs of the last over from Mustafizur Rahman as he remains wicket-less. A four from Raina and a six from Rohit from his over. 

20:12 PM IST: India -104/1 ( 14 overs) Rohit – 52, Raina – 15

Brilliant over for India with eleven runs off it as Suresh Rain takes on Mehidy Hasan. Back to back six and four for the southpaw as he takes on the spinner. India needs to up the ante to reach to a big total in Colombo. 

20:05 PM IST: Fifty for Rohit Sharma, India – 95/1 ( 13 overs) Rohit – 51, Raina – 5

It has been a solid outing for Rohit Sharma lately as he reaches his 13th T20I fifty. The Indian captain was required to deliver and what better than in the last game. Sharma after taking a slow start has accelerated his innings well to bring India on the right track. 24 runs of the last three overs. 

19:55 PM IST:  Out! Dhawan b Rubel 35(27) India – 71/1 ( 10 overs) Rohit – 33, Raina – 1

Rubel Hossain bowls a superb inswinging yorker to leave Dhawan startled. The southpaw tried to create some room for himself but was beaten by the pace and Bangladesh have their first breakthrough of the match. Dhawan walks back on 35. Suresh Raina is the new batsman in for India. 

19:48 PM IST: India – 63/0 ( 8 overs) Rohit – 29, Dhawan – 32

Nine runs off the over for India. Hasan keeping it straight and solid not giving any room but Indian openers going unaffeceted in their business. 

19:44 PM IST: India – 54/0 ( 7 overs) Rohit – 26, Dhawan – 22

Good over for Bangladesh Nazmul Islam giving away just five runs of it. The Indian openers have been going strong and are building up a formidable platform for the team to capitalise on. 

19: 40 PM IST: India – 49/0 ( 6 overs) Rohit – 26, Dhawan – 22

Two boundaries to start and end the over once again. The first one off Rohit Sharma’s bat and the last one from Dhawan. Eleven runs from the over for India as they near fifty inside first six overs. 

19:34 PM IST: India – 38/0 ( 5 overs) Rohit – 20, Dhawan – 17

A massive six of Rohit Sharma’s bat of the 4th ball from the over from Mehidy Hasan as India up the ante. The right-hander has once again looked uncomfortable against pace contrary to Dhawan’s smooth batting. 11 runs off the over with Rohit going run-a-ball. 

19:29 PM IST: India – 27/0 (4 overs) Rohit – 10, Dhawan – 16

Dhawan gets his first six of the day and enters the double figures in style. The southpaw has been in splendid touch, carrying his brilliant form, from South Africa to Sri Lanka. India are comfortably increasing their run rate with passing overs. 

19:24 PM IST: India – 18/0 (3 overs) Rohit – 8, Dhawan – 9

Seven runs off the over Rubel Hossain as Rohit Sharma continues to struggle in Colombo. A boundary off the last ball from Dhawan gets India seven runs off the over. 

19:20 PM IST: India – 11/0 (2 overs) Rohit – 6, Dhawan – 4 

A boundary from Rohit Sharma and Shikhar Dhawan earns India 9 runs off the over. A good one for the Indian openers against spinner Nazmul Islam. The duo looks comfortable now and India should saim to build on the good start. 

19:15 PM IST: India – 2/0 (1 over) Rohit – 2, Dhawan – 0 

Abu Hider Rony squares off the proceedings for Bangladesh with a few troubling deliveries for Indian opener Rohit Sharma who has been sluggish so far in the tournament. Brilliant first over from the left arm pacer with just a couple of runs off it. Rohit Sharma will have to deliver today and separate himself from the criticism surrounding his performances in the series. 

18:55 PM IST: Rohit: “It’s always a good thing, when you’re batting first. We have to come out and bat well. Wicket’s not going to change much. We were clinical in the last game. Dinesh and Manish finished the game well. It’s about continuing that (good performance). No concerns about my own form. Spending more time is important; not playing too many shots early on. For me, the team performance matters the most. We have one change — Siraj in place of Unadkat.”

Mahmudullah: “We’ll have a bowl first. The wicket looks quite dry, and spinners might come into play, so want to use the conditions early on. The wickets here gets better and better. And we’re playing two specialist spinners, so would like to take advantage. Lot of questions were being asked about our abilities (before the last game). We have one change — Abu Hider Rony comes in, Taskin misses out.”

18:48 PM IST: There is one change fro India in the line up with Mohamed Siraj replacing struggling Jaydev Unadkat. Bangladesh meanwhile, have left out Taskin Ahmad for Abu Hider Rony. 

India (Playing XI): Rohit Sharma(c), Shikhar Dhawan, Lokesh Rahul, Suresh Raina, Manish Pandey, Dinesh Karthik(w), Vijay Shankar, Washington Sundar, Shardul Thakur, Mohammed Siraj, Yuzvendra Chahal

Bangladesh (Playing XI): Tamim Iqbal, Soumya Sarkar, Liton Das, Mushfiqur Rahim(w), Mahmudullah(c), Sabbir Rahman, Mehidy Hasan, Rubel Hossain, Abu Hider Rony, Mustafizur Rahman, Nazmul Islam

18:45 PM IST: Bangladesh have won the toss and opted to bowl first in their second Nidahas Trophy 2018 meeting with India at the R Premadasa Stadium in Colombo. 

For all the latest Sports News, download NewsX App