With the ODI series in the kitty, India will look to get another series in the bag when they take on the hosts New Zealand in the first match of the 3-match T20 series in Wellington on Wednesday. Though skipper Virat Kohli has been rested, experienced Rohit Sharma will lead the men in Blue following a 4-1 victory in the ODIs. For the Kiwis, there will be more pressure to put up a show as their entire batting order failed in the 50-over format of the game. New Zealand is quite formidable when it comes to T20 format, however, the Men in Blue are also in great form given their historic win in Australia in the series down under.

In the Indian camp, Rohit and Dhawan will open and strive to give a solid start, given their in-tune form against the Black Caps. After the ugly episode with the TV show Koffee with Karan and the following suspension, Pandya has shown talent with both bat and ball in the two matches he has played and will look to keep the turn into a red-hot form.


New Zealand defeats India by 80 runs!

India has succumbed to the challenge posed by the Kiwis of 220 runs. New Zealand bowlers restricted India to 139 securing an impressive 80-run win over the visitors in the first T20I.

Final score of New Zealand 219 runs at a loss of 6 wickets

Last over was delivered by Khaleel. The Kiwis managed to score two boundaries in the last over and took the score to 219 runs for 6 wickets.

Bhuvaneshwar dismissed Ross Taylor

Ross Taylor got dismissed by Bhuvaneshvar on the first ball of 19th over. a dynamic comeback made by the Indian bowlers. Kiwis scored 207 runs at a loss of 6 wickets in 19 overs.

Kane Williamson returned to pavilion by Chahal

Kane Williamson went down at a score of 34 runs. Kiwis are losing the hold on the game by losing the wickets so early. Brilliant bowling by Chahal.

Daryl Mitchell down at 8 runs

Hardik Pandya took the wicket of Daryl Mitchell. Brilliant catch by Dinesh Kartik. Collin de Grandhomme to bat next. India getting the hold on the match again.

Tim Seifert down at 84

Khaleel Ahmad did it in the 12th over, took the wicket of Tim Seifert. It was very necessary for team India to snatch the wicket fo, Tim Seifert. Deryl Mitchell to bat next.

84 runs in 8 overs

The game is slipping away from India. Rohit Sharma needs to slow down the pace of the game. A wicket is much needed to stop the Kiwis.

Tim Seifert showing his class

Tim Seifert is in the attacking mode as he scored 15 runs in Bhubaneshwar's over. Kiwis have realised that they need to deliver a better game and utilize the Powerplay.

Bhuvaneshwar commencing with the ball

Bhuvaneshvar started balling for team India and Collin Munro is opening with the bat for the Kiwis. India will look forward to taking some early wickets so that the Batsmen don't get a chance to settle.

India vs New Zealand

Playing XIs
New Zealand (Playing XI): Colin Munro, Tim Seifert(w), Kane Williamson(c), Ross Taylor, Daryl Mitchell, Colin de Grandhomme, Mitchell Santner, Scott Kuggeleijn, Tim Southee, Ish Sodhi, Lockie Ferguson

India (Playing XI): Rohit Sharma(c), Shikhar Dhawan, Rishabh Pant, Vijay Shankar, Dinesh Karthik, MS Dhoni(w), Hardik Pandya, Krunal Pandya, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Yuzvendra Chahal, K Khaleel Ahmed

For all the latest Sports News, download NewsX App