The highly anticipated Pro Wrestling League (PWL) Season 3 kick-started on Tuesday with sensational performances made by the Mumbai Maharathi as 2015 champions outclassed favourites Delhi Sultans 5-2 in the opening fixture at the Siri Fort complex in New Delhi. Double Olympic champion Sushil Kumar was unplugged by Mumbai Maharathi after skipper Sakshi Malik won the toss and chose to block the Delhi Sultan’s talisman, who also received the highest bid during the Season 3 auctioning. After averting the massive challenge they were expected to face through Sushil Kumar, Mumbai Maharathi failed to make good impressions during the initial stages of the tie. 

Delhi Sultans in the absence of star player Sushil Kumar picked up an early lead through Sandeep Tomar who defeated Andrey Yatsenko 14-9 in the 57-kg men’s freestyle bout. The Mumbai got the tie level pegging when Seema bagged 4 crucial points in the final round to win her bout against Tunisia’s Maroi Mezien with a 5-1 margin. In the end it was Mumbai skipper Sakshi Malik, who clinched the tie from Delhi Sultans by absolutely decimated her opponent Monia and gave Maharathi an unassailable 4-2 lead. The Rio Olympic bronze medallist for India crushed Monia 18-2 in her 62kg bout what proved to be a flawless victory.  

Here are the highlights from the opening day of the Pro Wrestling League season 3:

09:00PM: Despite showing an impressive display with his grappling techniques in the consolation fight against Soslan Ramonov, Delhi Sultan’s Haji Aliev failed to emerge victorious as Mumbai Maharathi’s grappler won the final bout with a 3-2 margin.  

08:56PM: Delhi Sultan’s Haji Aliev is not in a mood to handover the night’s final bout to Mumbai Maharathi despite the match outcome will be nothing mere a consolation. 

08:52PM: Eyeing pride for their respective sides, Delhi Sultan’s Haji Aliev and Mumbai’s Soslan Ramonov are competing against each other in the final bout of the night. 

08:45PM: With the win captain Sakshi Malik has brought the first fixture to conclusion as Mumbai Maharathi have won the opening game against Delhi Sultans with 4-2 margin.   

08:42 PM: Even though Sakshi Malik has weight on her shoulders, the Mumbai Maharathi’s wrestling has decimated her opponent with her cool, calm and collective approach. With an unassailable 18-2 lead Sakshi Malik has not only put her bout to bed, she has also wrapped up the opening tie against Delhi Sultans in Mumbai’s favour. 

08:40 PM: No surprises ladies and gentlemen as Mumbai Maharathi’s ace Sakshi Malik has bagged 10 points in the very first round. 

08:36 PM: From Mumbai Maharathi’s corner, Bronze medalist for India in the 2016 Rio Olympics Sakshi Malik is up against Delhi Sultans’ Monia in fight-6 of tonight’s action.  

08:34 PM: It’s time for women’s action in the 62KG category!  

08:32 PM: Mumbai Maharathi are leading PWL Season 3’s opener against Delhi Sultans by 3-2. 

08:28 PM: Mumbai Maharathi’s Satender Malik has won the 125Kg bout against Delhi Sultan’s Hitender Kumar with a 7-6 margin. 

08:26 PM: With a minute to go in this everything or nothing encounter between the heavyweights, tables have been turned for Hitender Kumar. Satender has come from behind to lead the match 6-7. 

08:22 PM: The first round has come to a conclusion with Hitender Kumar leading Delhi Sultan’s attack with a 4-2 advantage. 

08:20PM: With a thumping take-down, Delhi Sultan’s Hitender Kumar opens his team’s account. The Delhi Sultan’s 125Kg pick is leading the charge with a 4-0 lead. 

08:18 PM: The heavyweight clash between the two giants, Delhi Sultan’s Hitender Kumar and Mumbai Maharathi’s Satender Malik is underway.  

08:16 PM:  Before Delhi Sultan’s Hitender and Mumbai Maharathi’s Satender Malik grace the mat for their 125 Kg bout, the Siri Fort Complex in New Delhi is giving double Olympian Sushil Kumar a resounding welcome. Sushil Kumar  might not be competing tonight but the the two-time Olympic medalist makes his present felt at the Siri Fort Complex as the 34-year old wrestler addresses wrestling fans.   

08:10 PM: With the result, Cynthia Vescan has also registered PWL Season 3’s first win by fall.

08:07 PM: Mumbai Maharathi’s Cynthia Vescan has won her bout comprehensively with a 12-1 score.    

08:03 PM: After a double leg hold, dropping her opponent down to the mat Cynthia Vescan is in cruise control. She is leading the match 12-1. 

08:01 PM: Not much of a lead but Samar has started the proceedings by giving a a solitary point to Delhi Sultans. 

07:57 PM: In an intense bout  going on between Hamza and Vescan, the first 3 minutes of the first round belongs to Samar Amer Ibrahim Hamza, who has picked up the opening point of the match. 

07:55 PM: Time for 76 Kg bout in women’s category, representing Delhi is Samar Amer Ibrahim Hamza and for Mumbai is Cynthia Vescan. 

07:48 PM: After leading the first round with a massive lead of 10 points, Alborov Aslan has already brought the match to a conclusion by picking up 5 more points. 

07:46 PM: Hungry Alborov Aslan has started things for Delhi Sultans like he wants his dinner early!

07:42 PM: Time for the men’s 92KG category! Representing Delhi Sultans is Alborov Aslan and for Mumbai is Satyawart Kadyan. 

07:37 PM: Seema impressively has bagged a crucial point to turn things around for Mumbai. Seema wins her bout to level the tie 1-1 between Delhi Sultans and Mumbai Maharathi.

07:35 PM: If Seema fails to score in the current situation of the bout then a point will be awarded to Delhi’s Maroi.

07:32PM: Delhi grappler Maroi has bagged the first point of the bout but its Mumbai Maharathi’s who have bounced back by leading the first round with a 2-1 lead.

07:28 PM: The second bout of the night is under women’s 50 KG category and representing Delhi Sultan is Maroi Mezien and for Mumbai is Seema. 

07:18 PM: Sandeep Tomar has won the first clash and Delhi Sultan’s have clinched the opening bout (Sandeep 12 – 9 Yatsenko Andrey). Delhi are leading 1-0. Below is the entire schedule of tonight’s action. 


07:15 PM: The 20-year old has been brought into early trouble as Sandeep Tomar has scalped 10 points in quick succession as the first round came to conclusion. 

07:10 PM: Representing the Mumbai Maharathi is Yatsenko Andrey and representing Delhi Sultans is Sandeep  Tomar. 

07:00PM: Mumbai Maharathi have won the toss and they have decided to block the men’s category which means we will not see Double Olympian Sushil Kumar in action tonight. 

06:21 PM: For tonight’s action, India’s pride and double Olympian Sushil Kumar, who is also the league’s most expensive pick from the auction will take center stage to lit-up the evening. Along with Delhi Sultan’s top pick,  wrestler Vinesh Phogat, and Sakshi Malik will be seen battling out on first day of Season 3. 

5: 25 PM IST: The stage is set for the first battle of the Pro Wrestling League season 3

5: 20 PM IST: Here is the schedule for Pro Wrestling League 2018 opening ceremony: 

6:00 pm: Opening Ceremony, Performance by Wrestlers and performers
6:15 pm: Exhibition match – Greco Roman Wrestling
6:45 pm: National Anthem
6:50 pm: Match Toss
7:00 pm: Pro Wrestling League Season 3 opener — Delhi Sultan Vs Mumbai Maharathi
8.50 pm: Presentation Ceremony



For all the latest Sports News, download NewsX App