Syed Mushtaq Ali Trophy final T20: Karnataka lift maiden title, beat Maharashtra by 8 wickets: Karnataka on Thursday defeated Maharashtra in the final of Syed Mushtaq Ali Trophy by 8 wickets. The match was played at Holkar Cricket Stadium Indore.
After victory, Karnataka levelled a record by winning 14 consecutive domestic matches. Earlier, Kolkata Knight Riders achieved the feat, but Karnataka has a chance to break the record by winning next game.

In the final of Syed Ali Mushtaq Trophy, the superb knock (85) in 57 balls by Mayank Agarwal helped Karnataka to lift the maiden title. Batting first, Maharashtra set a target of 155. Openers Ruturaj Gaikwad and skipper Rahul Tripathi (c) gave a sold start of 35 runs. The score was 35 for none in 4.4 overs and after 9.3 overs, it was 55 or 3. At the fourth wicket, Naushad Shaikh and Ankit Bawne stitched 81-run partnership. Shaikh was the leading run-scorer from his team. He smashed 69 in 41 balls with 5 fours and 3 sixes. Tripathi scored 30 and Bawne made 29 runs.

For Karnataka, Abhimanyu Mithun claimed two wickets. He conceded 24 runs in his four overs. KC Cariappa and Jagadeesha Suchith picked one each wicket.

Chasing the target, the first wicket of Karnataka dismissed on 14 runs. After that the bowlers of Maharashtra could take only one wicket on 106 runs. Karnataka only lost two wickets in the final match.

Kadam scored aggressive 60 of 39 balls, while Agarwal scored unbeaten 85 of 57 deliveries. Karnataka won all the 14 matches of the tournament and made a record. Agarwal was named player of tge match.

The first match of the trophy was played on February 21 between Delhi and Jharkhand.

For all the latest Sports News, download NewsX App