Ten Sri Lankan cricket players on Monday announced that they won’t be taking part in the upcoming Pakistan tour, citing security concerns, reports said on Monday. The players include ODI and Test captain Dimuth Karunaratne, T20 skipper Lasith Malinga, Thisara Perera, and Kusal Perera among others. In March 2009, a militant attack took place on the Sri Lankan team bus during a Test match in Lahore. Following the incident, most of the international teams boycotted to tour Pakistan.

The Sri Lanka Cricket Board said in a statement that players in the squad for the tour of Pakistan were briefed on security arrangements for the three ODI series and three T20I series. They also said that the players were given full freedom to make the decision whether they want to go or not.

After the briefing, ten players decided to stay away from the tour starting from September 27 in Karachi. Sri Lankan players who opted out from the tour were ODI and Test skipper Dimuth Karunaratne, T20 captain Lasith Malinga, Thisara Perera, Kusal Perera, Niroshan Dickwella, Dhananjaya de Silva, Suranga Lakmal, Akila Dananjaya, Angelo Mathews and Dinesh Chandimal.

Reports said, in the absence of some senior players the ODI team will be led by Lahiru Thirimane and the T20 team will be captained by Dasun Shanaka.

For all the latest Sports News, download NewsX App