Former Indian cricketer Virender Sehwag has become the first ever Indian cricketer to be roped in into the Anti-Doping Appeal Panel (ADAP) of the National Anti-Doping Agency (NADA). The legendary Indian opener has been included in the members’ panel along with former Delhi cricketer Vinay Lamba. The panel which largely constitutes of legal professionals and doctors for the first time has opted for cricketers as their members. NADA also included former weight-lifter N Kunjarani Devi in the panel. She herself was under the doping scanner in 2001 when she tested positive for a banned substance during the Asian Championships in South Korea.

Despite her alleged involvement in a doping trial, the 1999 World Championships silver medallist will now don a position in the elite panel. Other sportsperson in the panel are Jagbir Singh (hockey) and Rohit Rajpal (tennis), Akhil Kumar (boxing), Reeth Abraham (athletics). The inclusion of two cricketers will prove to be beneficial in developing the tainted relationship between NADA and Board of control for cricket in India (BCCI). BCCI has previously protested against NADA’s controversial clause and has disallowed the agency from inspecting the cricketers.

Virender Sehwag’s welcoming in the panel will ease down the ongoing rift between BCCI and NADA, the two elite organisations might come together and work for each other. Recently the Sports Ministry had ordered a dope test of every cricketer including international and domestic giving complete authority to NADA for the tests as interference from BCCI was suspected.

Here is the full list of members of the NADA:

Anti-Doping Disciplinary Panel

Chairman – Kuldeep Singh (retired district and sessions judge)

Members – Manik Dogra (advocate), Nalin Kohli (advocate), Bina Gupta (advocate), Surbhi Mehta (advocate), Dr Vinod Dogra, Dr Ankit Sharma, Dr Sumita Gupta, Dr Chengappa Rajpal, Reeth Abraham, Akhil Kumar, N Kunjarani Devi, Jagbir Singh and Colonel (Dr) Sanjeev Kumar

Anti-Doping Appeal Panel

Chairman – Justice (retired) RV Easwar

Members – Vibha Datta Makhija (senior advocate), Dr Naveen Dang, Dr Harsh Mahajan, Virender Sehwag and Vinay Lamba