Sunday, December 10, 2023

UDP, PDF extend support to Conrad Sangma’s NPP to form government in Meghalaya

- Advertisement -

The United Democratic Party (UDP) and People’s Democratic Front (PDF) have extended their support to the National People’s Party (NPP) for the formation of a new government in Meghalaya.

Metbah Lyngdoh, president of the UDP, told ANI that the UDP has extended its support to the NPP in order for them to form a government.

“We (UDP and PDF) have extended our support to NPP,” Metbah Lyngdoh said on Sunday.
With the support from UDP and PDF, the numbers have now gone up to 45.

UDP won 11 seats in the Meghalaya assembly polls and PDF won two seats. Earlier, BJP, two MLAs of HSPDP and two Independent MLAs extended their support to NPP.

Conrad Sangma will take the oath of office as Meghalaya’s Chief Minister for a second consecutive term on March 7. The ceremony will take place at Shillong’s Raj Bhawan, where Prime Minister Narendra Modi will also be present.

On Friday, NPP chief Sangma resigned as chief minister of Meghalaya before Governor Phagu Chauhan and staked a claim to form the state’s new government.

According to data released by the Election Commission of India on Thursday, Meghalaya CM Conrad Sangma won the South Tura constituency by a margin of 5,016 over Bharatiya Janata Party’s Bernard N Marak.

Governor Chauhan has accepted Conrad Sangma’s resignation and asked him to stay on until alternative arrangements are made.

The United Democratic Party (UDP) won 11 seats in the assembly elections held on Thursday. Five seats in Congress were won. Trinamool Congress received five seats as well, despite having inducted all Congress MLAs in the previous assembly.

The BJP, the People’s Democratic Front, and the Hill State People’s Democratic Party all won two seats. The Voice of the People Party received four seats. Independent candidates won two seats.

The BJP and NPP were coalition partners in the previous government but ran separate campaigns in the assembly elections.

In the other assembly poll results announced on Thursday, the BJP and its allies won comfortable victories in Tripura and Nagaland. The BJP, which made history by capturing Tripura from the Left parties in 2018, was expected to be ahead of its rivals in most exit poll projections in the state.

The Congress and the CPM, which have been bitter rivals for years, have formed a pre-election alliance.

Latest news

Related news