Wednesday, August 10, 2022

Four Congress members suspended for Monsoon session due to ‘unruly behaviour’

Manickam Tagore, Ramya Haridas, Jothimani, and TN Prathapan, four Congress MPs, have been suspended from the Lok Sabha for the entire Monsoon session for ‘unruly behaviour and disturbing proceedings.’

The MPs were suspended for ‘unruly and disrespectful behaviour toward the Chair,’ according to Rule 374. The Lok Sabha was postponed until 3 p.m. today due to commotion and sloganeering by Opposition MPs on a variety of subjects.

Droupadi Murmu took office as the 15th President of India before the Monsson Session began today.

The 64-year-old defeated opposition presidential candidate Yashwant Sinha to become the first tribal president and the second woman in history.

In a ceremonial parade, outgoing President Ram Nath Kovind and Murmu arrived in parliament before of the swearing ceremony.

In the Central Hall of Parliament, Chief Justice of India NV Ramana administered the President’s oath of office to her.

The Indian Antarctic Bill, 2022, was passed by the Lok Sabha today, with the goal of providing a legislative framework for India’s Antarctic research efforts and protecting the Antarctic ecology.

Jitendra Singh, Union Minister of Earth Sciences, introduced the Bill. The Bill seeks to establish India’s own national safeguards for the Antarctic environment, as well as the dependent and connected ecosystems.

It also intends to implement the Antarctic Treaty, the Convention on the Conservation of Antarctic Marine Living Resources, and the Antarctic Treaty Protocol on Environmental Protection.

Earlier on Friday, the Rajya Sabha and Lok Sabha adjourned numerous times amid a disturbance by Opposition members about inflation, price rises, and a GST hike on basic necessities.

Since the session began, both Houses have been continuously adjourned.

Latest news

Related news