Thursday, November 30, 2023

Chhattisgarh Polls: Unveiling Key Contenders from Chief Minister to Speaker in Second Phase Showdown!

- Advertisement -

On November 17, Chhattisgarh is set for the second phase of Assembly elections, focusing on the remaining 70 seats of the 90-member assembly. With a robust setup of over 18,800 polling stations, today’s polls will determine the fate of 958 candidates across these 70 constituencies.

Raipur City West Assembly leads with a competitive 26 candidates, while Daundilohara constituency boasts the fewest contestants at four. Notably, the Patan Assembly constituency is bracing for a triangular contest among Congress, BJP, and Janata Congress Chhattisgarh. Chief Minister Bhupesh Baghel represents Congress, challenged by BJP’s Vijay Baghel and Janata Congress Chhattisgarh’s Amit Jogi, son of the party’s chief and former CM Ajit Jogi.

Key constituencies in this phase include Ambikapur, Raipur City South, Korba, Sakti, Durg Rural, and Lormi. Deputy Chief Minister TS Singh Deo seeks Congress support in Ambikapur, facing BJP’s Rajesh Agrawal, a former Congress leader.

Sakti Assembly anticipates a showdown between Congress’ Charan Das Mahant, the current assembly speaker, and BJP’s Khilawan Sahu. In Raipur City South, former home minister Brij Mohan Agrawal vies for BJP, countered by Congress’ Mahant Ram Sundar.

Lormi witnesses a BJP-Congress clash with state chief and MP Arun Sao against Congress’ Thaneshwar Sahu. In Korba, Congress presents Jai Singh Agrawal, the state’s current Revenue Minister, against BJP’s Lakhanlal Dewangan.

Union Minister Renuka Singh contests Bharatpur-Sonhat, facing Congress’ Gulab Singh Kamro. The voting window spans from 8 am to 5 pm, with exceptions in nine Bindranavagarh assembly stations, starting at 7 am and concluding at 3 pm.

Following the first phase on November 7 for 20 seats, the Election Commission will announce the results for the 90-member assembly on December 3.

Latest news

Related news