Portugal announced 26-member squad for the FIFA World Cup 2022

11 November, 2022 | Pranay Lad

world cup Top News

Cristiano Ronaldo (37), who will play in his fifth World Cup for Portugal, was named to the 26-member squad for the FIFA World Cup 2022 on Thursday.

Cristiano Ronaldo (37), who will compete in his fifth World Cup for Portugal, was included in the 26-person roster that Portugal unveiled on Thursday for the FIFA World Cup 2022.

Pepe, a 39-year-old experienced defender who is now playing for FC Porto because the Portugal coach has faith in him, is also a member of the squad.

Fernando Santos, the national coach, has also given Ronaldo his support despite the fact that he hasn’t scored for Portugal in the past three games.

The affable footballer was instrumental in the squad’s triumphs at the 2016 European Championship and the 2019 UEFA Nations League championship.

“Ronaldo included, every player I have called up has a desire to win and make Portugal the world champion. I think this team is capable of winning the world championship, “a sports channel cites Santos’ words.

Ronaldo, the all-time leading goal scorer for men’s international teams with 117 goals, was always expected to be included despite being in the middle of his most difficult season.

Ronaldo has only started four Premier League games and scored three goals in 16 games across all competitions.

Coach Erik ten Hag relieved him of his duties after he refused to play as a substitute in United’s victory over Tottenham in October.

The former Real Madrid and Juventus player requested to leave Manchester United in the summer in order to compete in the Champions League. There were no takers, though.

On November 23, Portugal will face Ghana to open their World Cup campaign. They are in Group H with Uruguay and South Korea.

The 2022 FIFA World Cup will begin on November 20 in Qatar, with the championship match taking place on December 18.

The Team includes:

Goalkeepers: Diogo Costa, Jose Sa, Rui Patricio.
Defenders: Diogo Dalot, Joao Cancelo, Danilo Pereira, Pepe, Ruben Dias, Antonio Silva, Nuno Mendes, Raphael Guerreiro.
Midfielders: Joao Palhinha, Ruben Neves, Bernardo Silva, Bruno Fernandes, Joao Mario, Matheus Nunes, Vitinha, William Carvalho, Otavio.
Forwards: Cristiano Ronaldo, Joao Felix, Rafael Leao, Ricardo Horta, Goncalo Ramos, and Andre Silva.