Buenos Aires: The Dakar Rally 2016 will begin on January 3 in Buenos Aires after Peru decided not to participate in the race, the organisers have announced.
The organisers said on Thursday the race will begin on January 3 and will have 13 stages, the same number as usual, and will also have special stages, reports Xinhua.
“Thanks to the great work of our teams, the rally’s route has changed a little bit but the spirit of the race remains the same,” said Marc Coma, Dakar Rally sports director.
The special stages will have less dunes and more technical tracks during the first three days, until arriving in San Salvador de Jujuy in Argentina. Later, the new route is designed to link Bolivia, where it will end, as it was first intended.
“Before arriving at Uyuni in Bolivia, the drivers will go through a new ‘marathon’ stage,” said Coma adding that “we will include a close park in Jujuy so the assistance vehicles will anticipate towards Uyuni.”
Dakar Rally 2016 was supposed to start from Lima and remain four days in Peru. But last August Peru announced it will not participate because it has to face the weather phenomenon known as “El Nino.”
“El Nino” causes heavy rainfall in the Pacific Ecuadorian region.

For all the latest World News, download NewsX App