Antalya: Prime Minister Narendra Modi was received by Turkish President Recep Tayyip Erdogan at the venue of the G20 Summit 2015 as the welcome ceremony got underway in this Mediterranean resort city on Sunday.
“Traditional Turkish hospitality on display as @G20Turkey2015 begins with welcome to PM by President @RT_Erdogan,” Vikas Swarup, external affairs ministry spokesperson, tweeted.
Besides India and Turkey, the G20 grouping comprises Argentina, Australia, Britain, Brazil, Canada, China, France, Germany, Indonesia, Italy, Japan, Mexico, Russia, Saudi Arabia, South Africa, South Korea, the US and the European Union.
Originally formed at the level of finance ministers and central bank governors in 1999 after the East Asian economic crisis, the G20 assumed significance after its elevation to a summit-level forum in 2008, following the global financial crisis.