Brussels: The European Union (EU) on Friday announced extending of EU restrictive measures against the Syrian government until June 1, 2017.

The decision was in line with the Council of the EU conclusions of December 2014 which affirmed that the EU would continue imposing and enforcing sanctions targeting the Syrian government and its supporters “as long as repression continues”, Xinhua news agency quoted a statement as saying.

(Also Read: Pope Francis prays for Syria terror victims, terrorists)

The sanctions currently in place include notably an oil embargo, restrictions on certain investments, a freeze of the assets of the Syrian central bank within the EU, export restrictions on equipment and technology that “might be used for internal repression” as well as on equipment and technology for monitoring or interception of internet or telephone communications.

In addition, over 200 people and 70 entities are targeted by a travel ban and an asset freeze “over the violent repression against the civilian population in Syria”, the EU said.

For all the latest World News, download NewsX App