New Delhi: Donald Trump and Hillary Clinton will be facing off in what may be termed as the most contentious US Presidential election till date. The polling will close on 9th November, 2016 in India where the two candidates will be at loggerheads to become the 45th President of the United States. 

The exact time and the date of the US Elections 2016 for Indian viewers have been mentioned below:

Highlight: Winning the popular vote does not necessitate appointment as the next US President. The winning candidate should secure a majority of 270 or more from the 538 votes in the Electoral College.

What is the Electoral College? 

The Electoral College is a process, not a place. The founding fathers established it in the Constitution as a compromise between election of the President by a vote in Congress and election of the President by a popular vote of qualified citizens.

The states where the election will be fought the hardest: Arizona, Colorado, Florida, Iowa, Nevada, New Hampshire, North Carolina, Ohio, Pennsylvania and Virginia.

The polling will close on early Wednesday morning as per the Indian Standard Time (IST).

At 4:30 AM (Indian Standard Time) – The first polls in Indiana and Kentucky will close. (Heavily Republican states).

At 5:30 AM (Indian Standard Time) – Polls will close in Florida, Virginia, Georgia, South Carolina, Vermont.

At 6:00 AM (Indian Standard Time) Polls will close in Ohio, North Carolina, and West Virginia (Trump-favoured state).

At 6:30 AM (Indian Standard Time) Polls close in Pennsylvania, Michigan, Alabama, Connecticut, Delaware, District of Columbia, Illinois, Kansas, Maine, Maryland, Massachusetts, Mississippi, Missouri, New Jersey, Oklahoma, Rhode Island, Tennessee.

At 7:30 AM (Indian Standard Time) Polls will close in Colorado, Wisconsin, Texas. Also in Louisiana, Minnesota, Nebraska, New Mexico, New York, South Dakota, Wyoming, the polls will close. (New York and New Jersey expected to be in favour of Hillary Clinton) (Heavily populated states)

At 8:30 AM (Indian Standard Time) Polls will close in Arizona, Idaho, Montana, Nevada, Utah and Iowa. (Arizona being seen as battleground this year)

At 9:30 AM (Indian Standard Time) Polls will close in biggest electoral regions: California, Washington State, Oregon and North Dakota.

At 10:30 AM (Indian Standard Time) Polls will close in Alaska and Hawaii. (By the time Alaska closes, the drama over the election is already expected to be over) 

Polls for the election of the next US President will close. The closing of the polls will be followed by concession speeches from both the Republican and Democratic candidates.

(In the event that no candidate emerges as the winner, the Republican-controlled House of Representatives will decide the next US President.)