BJP releases first list of 160 candidates

10 November, 2022 | Pranay Lad

BJP Top News

The Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) announced its first list of 160 candidates for the Gujarat Assembly elections on Thursday.

The Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) announced the first list of 160 candidates for the Gujarat Assembly elections on Thursday.

Chief Minister Bhupendra Patel will represent the Ghatlodia constituency in the elections. Union Ministers Mansukh Mandviya, Bhupender Yadav, and State BJP chief CR Paatil announced the candidates at a joint press conference.

Rivaba Jadeja, the wife of cricketer Ravindra Jadeja, has been given a ticket to run in the Jamnagar North constituency.

Former Congress leader Hardik Patel, who left the party to join the BJP, will run for office in the Viramgam constituency.

Harsh Sanghavi, the Gujarat Home Minister, will run for the Majura seat.

Notably, the BJP held the party’s Central Election Committee (CEC) meeting regarding the Gujarat Assembly election at the party’s headquarters on Wednesday under the chairmanship of Prime Minister Narendra Modi, where national president JP Nadda, Maharashtra Deputy Chief Minister Devendra Fadnavis, Union Minister Bhupendra Yadav, former Karnataka Chief Minister BS Yediyurappa, and others arrived.

Soon after the meeting, former Gujarat Chief Minister Vijay Rupani and three other governing Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) officials stated that they would not run in the state’s forthcoming assembly elections to make space for fresh faces.

Rupani served as Gujarat’s chief minister from August 2016 until September 2021. He is now an MLA representing Rajkot West.

On Tuesday evening, the BJP core group meeting for the Gujarat elections was held at Nadda’s house.

Gujarat has been a BJP stronghold for decades, and the party is running for a seventh term.

Gujarat will hold elections on December 1 and December 5.

While Congress seeks to depose the BJP, the Aam Aadmi Party (AAP) is also working hard to score well in the polls.