BJP’s Rebels Lead Himachal Polls in 3 Constituencies, Congress Ahead in 34

8 December, 2022 | Pranay Lad

BJP Top News

The Bharatiya Janata Party rebels are leading from their individual constituencies in Himachal Pradesh, according to the Election Commission of India's trends in vote counting.

The Election Commission of India’s vote counting statistics suggests that Bharatiya Janata Party dissidents are leading from their respective constituencies in Himachal Pradesh as Independent candidates. However, BJP is ahead in 31 seats, while Congress is ahead in 34.

Hiteshwar Singh, a dissident BJP member running as an independent from Banjar, is in the lead with 8585 votes. Khimi Ram of the Congress has so far received 8574 votes, while Surender Shourie of the BJP is lagging with 7424.

Another BJP renegade candidate from Dehra is running as an Independent and is now in the lead with 10903 votes. Additionally, Dr. Rajesh Sharma of the Congress is leading Ramesh Chand of the BJP with 5848 votes as of 10:55 a.m.

With 12378 votes, BJP rebel KL Thakur is also in the lead in Nalagarh.

Jai Ram Thakur, the state’s chief minister, presently has a lead of 23136 votes over Chet Ram, the congressman running for this seat, who has so far received 5524 votes.

Suresh Bharadwaj of the BJP, who is also battling the “outsider” label in Kasumpti, is in second place with 6629 votes while Anirudh Singh of the Congress is in first place with 11143 votes.

Surprisingly, Rakesh Singha of the Communist Party of India (Marxist) (CPIM) is in the lead in the Theog constituency with 4340 votes, while the candidates for the BJP and Congress are well behind with 4407 and 2302 votes, respectively.

Ram Kumar, running for the BJP, is trailing behind Mukesh Agnihotri, the incumbent congressman who has served as the Haroli seat’s representative since 2003, with 8610 votes.

According to the ECI, in Shimla, where the most recent assembly elections were held, Sanjay Sood of the BJP is still in last place with 7172 votes while Harish Janartha of the Congress is currently leading with 8071 votes.

At eight in the morning on Thursday, the counting of votes for the Himachal Pradesh Assembly elections began.

There are 68 counting halls spread out over 59 different places throughout Himachal.
On November 12, 68 assembly seats in the state were up for election, and a turnout of roughly 75.6% was noted.

In the hill state, BJP was vying for reelection for a second straight term, and Congress was supporting them by supporting the “10 assurances” that the party set in its manifesto.

The election fight has become more intense with the Aam Aadmi Party’s emergence as the third major political party in the state.

Along with these three, other contenders include the Rashtriya Devbhumi Party (RDP), Communist Party of India (Marxist), Bahujan Samaj Party (BSP), and Communist Party of India (CPI).

Both the BJP and the Congress have declared victory in the state, which has a history of switching governments every few years. If the BJP prevails, it will defeat the anti-incumbency and reverse the state’s trend toward alternate governments.

Notably, the BJP won 44 seats in the 2017 Assembly elections, while the Congress won 21. This helped the BJP form the government.