Bypolls Results Update: SAD-Amritsar’s Simranjit Singh Mann wins Sangrur

26 June, 2022 | Pravina Srivastava

Simranjit Singh Mann of the Shiromani Akali Dal (Amritsar) defeated Bhagwant Singh Mann of the Aam Aadmi Party in the Sangrur Lok Sabha bypolls

Simranjit Singh Mann of the Shiromani Akali Dal (Amritsar) defeated Bhagwant Singh Mann of the Aam Aadmi Party in the Sangrur Lok Sabha bypolls today, dealing a severe blow to the Punjabi government led by the Aam Aadmi Party.

Mann defeated the candidate of the ruling party for the Lok Sabha seat that Chief Minister Bhagwant Mann had previously held by winning the byelection with 2,53,154 votes.

“For our party, this is a huge victory. In this byelection, we have beaten all national parties. My first objective will be to bring up the subject of Sangrur’s dire economic situation, particularly the state of its indebted farmers. The Punjab government and I would cooperate “Mann remarked.

He further went on to say that “I am appreciative that the people of Sangrur chose me to represent them in parliament. I will strive tirelessly to lessen the hardships of our farmers, farmworkers, traders, and everyone in my constituency.”

Bhagwant Mann, the current chief minister of the AAP, is well-known for being from Sangrur, where he also won elections to the legislative body in 2014 and 2019. After Mann’s resignation as MP following his victory in the Dhuri constituency in the state assembly elections, the seat became vacant.

Along with Sangrur, the counting of ballots for two additional Uttar Pradesh Lok Sabha seats—Rampur and Azamgarh—took place today.

Additionally, the bypolls for seven assembly seats in Tripura, Jharkhand, Andhra Pradesh, and Delhi saw the counting of ballots.

Earlier on June 23, bypolls were conducted.

Agartala, Jubarajnagar, Surma, and Town Bardowali in Tripura all conducted assembly by-elections.

Rajinder Nagar in Delhi, Mandar in the Ranchi region of Jharkhand, and Atmakuru in Andhra Pradesh were the other constituencies where assembly bypolls were conducted. The resignations of the lawmakers in two seats, the disqualification of an MLA in one, and the death of one of the MLAs midseason forced the bypolls in these seats.

For Tripura’s new chief minister, Dr. Manik Saha, who took over for Biplab Kumar Deb last month, the bypolls were vital. In order to save his CM seat, the dentist-turned-politician himself is running in his first-ever direct election.

The resignation of Samajwadi Party leader Akhilesh Yadav, who won election as an MLA to the Uttar Pradesh Legislative Assembly earlier this year, made the bye-elections for the Azamgarh seat necessary.

After winning the 2022 Assembly elections, Samajwadi Party (SP) leaders Akhilesh Yadav and Azam Khan resigned from their posts as MPs in Azamgarh and Rampur, respectively.

However, Azam Khan was elected from the Rampur Sadar constituency, while Akhilesh won the Karhal assembly seat.

After Raghav Chadha, an AAP MP was selected to represent Punjab in the Rajya Sabha on March 21, the Rajinder Nagar seat in Delhi became vacant.

In order to replace Rajinder Nagar’s empty seat left by Chadha, AAP fielded Durgesh Pathak against Prem Lata of Congress and former BJP councillor Rajesh Bhatia.