Details of New Parliament building inauguration; Read on to know

26 May, 2023 | Vaishali Sharma

New Parliament Building National

On Sunday, May 28, PM Modi and Lok Sabha Speaker Om Birla will lead the inauguration ceremony of the new parliament building, which will be dedicated to the nation.

On Sunday, May 28, Prime Minister Narendra Modi and Lok Sabha Speaker Om Birla will lead the inauguration ceremony of the new parliament building, which will be dedicated to the nation.

ANI reported that the inauguration is likely to be held in two phases. According to ANI, the rituals preceding the inaugural ceremony will begin in the morning and will most likely take place in a pandal (canopy) near the Gandhi statue in Parliament. PM Modi, Lok Sabha Speaker Om Birla, Rajya Sabha Deputy Chairman Hariwansh, and some senior government ministers are expected to attend the ceremony.

It is understood that following the pujas, the dignitaries will inspect the Lok Sabha and Rajya Sabha chambers in the new building. The sacred ‘Sengol’ is expected to be installed in the Lok Sabha chamber, directly next to the Speaker’s chair, after some rituals in which priests from Tamil Nadu, including the original jeweller who designed it, will be present.

According to ANI, which cited sources, a prayer ceremony will also be held on the grounds of the new parliament building.

The morning phase of the ceremony is expected to end around 9:30 a.m., with the singing of the national anthem in the Lok Sabha chamber in the presence of all dignitaries, including Prime Minister Modi.

During this phase, the Deputy Rajya Sabha Chairman, Hariwansh, will deliver a speech and read a written congratulatory message on behalf of Rajya Sabha Chairman, Jagdeep Dhankar. On the occasion, President Droupadi Murmu will also read a written message.

In fact, two short audio-video films will be shown for the dignitaries present to discuss the new parliament’s construction process, building, and significance.

The Lok Sabha Speaker, who serves as the Parliament’s custodian, will also speak on the occasion.
A time slot has also been set aside for the Leader of the Opposition in the Rajya Sabha to deliver his speech on the occasion. However, LoP Mallikarjun Kharge is unlikely to attend the inauguration ceremony on Sunday after the Congress party and a number of opposition parties announced a boycott.

According to ANI, PM Modi will also release a coin and stamp commemorating the historic occasion, as well as deliver a speech on the occasion, after which the Secretary-General Lok Sabha will deliver the Vote of Thanks to conclude the ceremony.

In the midst of the opposition’s boycott call, the Centre has received a confirmed list of 25 political parties, some of which are not members of the National Democratic Alliance (NDA), that will attend the inauguration ceremony of the new Parliament building on May 28.

Apart from BJP, several parties in the NDA including AIADMK, Apna Dal, the Republican Party of India, the Shinde faction of Shiv Sena, NPP, and NPF have confirmed their attendance for the function on Sunday.

Several neutral parties, including Biju Janata Dal, TDP, and YSRCP will be present for the inauguration.
Amongst the opposition parties, Shiromani Akali Dal (SAD), Bahujan Samajwadi Party (BSP) and Janata Dal-Secular will also attend the function on Sunday.

This comes after 19 opposition parties including Congress put out a joint statement announcing a boycott of the Parliament building inauguration.