DK Shivakumar takes oath as Dy CM, bows on Vidhana Soudha steps

20 May, 2023 | Srijita Sen

dks Political

DK Shivakumar bowed on the steps of the building and touched the stairs with his forehead as a sign of respect.

After several rounds of discussion and deliberations, Congress announced senior leader Siddaramaiah as the new Karnataka Chief Minister and DK Shivakumar as the new Deputy Chief Minister. The duo was present at Vidhana Soudha for their first cabinet meeting after their swearing-in ceremony on Saturday. Before entering the building, DKS showed the media stationed outside a victory sign. However, what caught everyone’s attention was that the Congress leader bowed on the steps of the building and touched the stairs with his forehead as a sign of respect.

Besides Siddaramaiah and DKS, eight MLAs asserted in the new Karnataka cabinet at the Kanteerava Stadium in Bengaluru. The eight ministers who took oath, one week after the Congress won with a big margin at the Karnataka Assembly elections, are G. Parameshwara, K. H. Muniyappa, K. J. George, M. B. Patil, Satish Jarkiholi, Priyank Kharge, Ramalinga Reddy and B Z Zameer Ahmed Khan.

Meanwhile, DKS put out a tweet after taking oath as the Dy CM. He wrote, “As I embark on a new journey to fulfill the aspirations of our people, I promise that Congress Govt will guarantee sustained progress and welfare of all”

<blockquote class=”twitter-tweet”><p lang=”kn” dir=”ltr”>ಕಂಠೀರವ ಕ್ರೀಡಾಂಗಣದಲ್ಲಿ ಇಂದು ಹಮ್ಮಿಕೊಂಡಿದ್ದ ಸಮಾರಂಭದಲ್ಲಿ ರಾಜ್ಯದ ನೂತನ ಉಪ ಮುಖ್ಯಮಂತ್ರಿಯಾಗಿ ಪ್ರಮಾಣ ವಚನ ಸ್ವೀಕರಿಸಿದೆ.<br><br>ಕೋಟ್ಯಂತರ ಕನ್ನಡಿಗರ ಆಶೋತ್ತರಗಳು ಈಡೇರುವ ಸಮಯ ಬಂದಿದೆ. ಕರ್ನಾಟಕದ ಭವ್ಯತೆಯನ್ನು ಮರಳಿ ತರಲು ನಾವು ಕಟಿಬದ್ಧ.<br><br>Took oath as the Deputy Chief Minister of Karnataka today. <br><br>As I embark on a… <a href=””></a></p>&mdash; DK Shivakumar (@DKShivakumar) <a href=””>May 20, 2023</a></blockquote> <script async src=”” charset=”utf-8″></script>

He continued, “I thank the people of Karnataka for their overwhelming support and love.”

Opposition party leaders and senior members also attended the swearing-in ceremony. The bigwigs who were in attendance included National Congress Party president Sharad Pawar, Tamil Nadu CM M K Stalin, and National Conference president Farooq Abdullah among others.