Draupadi Murmu files nomination of Presidential Election 2022

24 June, 2022 | Riya Girdhar

On July 18, the nation will elect its next president.

Draupadi Murmu, a candidate for the NDA led by the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP), announced her candidacy for president today. All of the major BJP figures, including Prime Minister Modi, Defense Minister Rajnath Singh, and Home Minister Amit Shah, were present throughout this. Prime Minister Narendra Modi (PM Modi) acted as the proposer in the nomination of Draupadi Murmu, and Rajnath Singh acted as the seconder.

The whole NDA, including the BJP, appeared united at the nomination of Draupadi Murmu. The Chief Ministers of the BJP-controlled states attended this occasion to support Draupadi Murmu’s candidature. Draupadi Murmu has received the backing of BJD leader Naveen Patnaik and Andhra Pradesh chief minister Jagan Mohan Reddy. Following this, Draupadi Murmu is likely to be elected president.

On July 18, the nation will elect its next president. However, the Jammu and Kashmir Assembly will be unable to vote in the national elections for the highest constitutional position. mainly because Jammu and Kashmir was split into two union territories in 2019. The Jammu and Kashmir Legislative Assembly has not been established since that time. Let us inform you that although the Union Territory of Jammu and Kashmir is granted an assembly under the Jammu and Kashmir Reorganization Act, elections were unable to be held there.

Five Lok Sabha members from the Union Territory of Jammu and Kashmir will, nevertheless, cast ballots in the presidential election, including Farooq Abdullah, Hasnain Masoodi, Akbar Lone, Jugal Kishore Sharma, and Jitendra Singh.