Second G-20 Disaster Risk Reduction working group meeting to be held in Mumbai

3 May, 2023 | Vaishali Sharma

G20 National

The second meeting of the G-20 Disaster Risk Reduction Working Group will be conducted in Mumbai from May 23 to 25, according to a statement issued by the MHA on Tuesday.

The second meeting of the G-20 Disaster Risk Reduction Working Group will be conducted in Mumbai from May 23 to 25, according to a statement issued by the Ministry of Home Affairs (MHA) on Tuesday.

The 2nd G-20 Disaster Risk Reduction Working Group meeting will begin on May 23 with about 120 participants. The declaration came after Brihanmumbai Municipal Corporation (BMC) Commissioner Iqbal Singh Chahal attended a meeting at the BMC headquarters in Mumbai to evaluate the corporation’s and other agencies’ preparedness.

In the month of May, the G-20 Council will hold three Working Group Meetings in Mumbai.
The BMC Commissioner directed all agencies, including the BMC, to maintain effective coordination and complete all outstanding work within the time frame specified.

Representatives from the Working Group will also visit BMC headquarters on the sidelines of the meeting.
This visit will include an inspection of the Disaster Management Department’s control room as well as a heritage tour of the historic municipal building.

In view of this, the BMC Commissioner also mentioned that the ongoing renovation works in the BMC Headquarters building should be completed on time by maintaining good coordination with all other stakeholder agencies.

“The concerned departments should complete the works of roads, sanitation, beautification etc. which fall within the jurisdiction in time and also by keeping in mind the experience dignitaries had during previous G-20 meetings in the city,” BMC Commissioner said.

He also added that a review of the preparations in this regard will be taken in the next week.
Principal Secretary, Disaster Management and Rehabilitation Department, Government of Maharashtra, Asim Kumar Gupta; Additional Municipal Commissioner (Eastern Suburbs) Ashwini Bhide; Additional Municipal Commissioner (City) Ashish Sharma; Additional Municipal Commissioner (Projects) P. Velrasu; Additional Municipal Commissioner (Western Suburbs) Dr Sanjeev Kumar; Central Government’s G-20 Council Director Mrinalini Srivastava, Director General (West Zone) of Press Information BureauMonideepa Mukherjee, Brihanmumbai Municipal Corporation’s Joint Commissioner (General Administration) Milin Sawant attended the review meeting.

Joint Commissioner (Municipal Commissioner’s Office) Chandrashekhar Chore, Deputy Commissioner (Circle 4) Vishwas Shankarwar, Deputy Commissioner (Circle 2) Ramakant Biradar, Deputy Commissioner (Circle 1) Dr Sangeeta Hassanale, K East Ward’s Assistant Commissioner Manish Valanju, Director (Disaster Management) Mahesh Narvekar, Chief Fire Officer Sanjay Manjrekar, Chief Security Officer Ajit Tawde, Deputy Commissioner of Police (Security) Mahesh Chimte, Government of Maharashtra’s Additional Secretary Milind Hardas were also present in this review meeting along with representatives of various other agencies.