Decisive Contests in Karnataka Elections 2023 Set to Determine Assembly Battle

13 May, 2023 | Vaishali Sharma

karnataka National

Karnataka elections 2023: Battle for Assembly outcome hinges on key contests, with constituencies and community support playing crucial roles.

With Karnataka preparing for the election results, the battle for key constituencies will determine the outcome. The BJP, Congress, and Janata Dal (Secular) engaged in a vigorous campaign, relying on heavyweight campaigners. Vote counting will commence at 8 am across 36 designated centers. Despite the BJP and Congress clashing over the Bajrang Dal issue, polling concluded peacefully with a robust turnout of 73.29%. A party needs to secure 113 seats for a majority and to form the government in Karnataka.

Key constituencies to watch out for include Varuna, Kanakapura, Shiggaon, Hubli-Darwad, Channapatna, Shikaripura, Chittapur, Ramanagara, and Chikmagalur. The results in these seats could significantly impact the overall election outcome. The Lingayat and Vokkaliga communities, representing 17% and 11% of the state’s population respectively, will also play a crucial role.

Several prominent candidates are contesting, such as Chief Minister Basavaraj Bommai seeking a fresh mandate from the Shiggaon constituency, former CM Siddaramaiah competing in Varuna, and KPCC president DK Shivakumar vying for Kanakapura. Former CM Jagadish Shettar, HD Kumaraswamy, BY Vijayendra, Priyank Kharge, Nikhil Kumaraswamy, and CT Ravi are also engaged in key electoral battles.

The BJP aims to capitalize on Prime Minister Narendra Modi’s popularity and expand its presence in the south. The Congress, on the other hand, seeks a turnaround in electoral fortunes. Both parties fielded prominent leaders and introduced new faces in their campaigns.

Karnataka has a history of not re-electing the incumbent party since 1985, and the BJP hopes to break this trend as it aspires to return to power in the state.

Read Also : No one contacted me till now…no demand for me”: Kumaraswamy ahead of counting of votes in K’taka

Follow us : Twitter