New Zealand Wins Toss, Opts to Bowl Against India in 2nd ODI

27 November, 2022 | Pranay Lad

New Zealand Top News

In the second edition of the three-match ODI series on Sunday at Seddon Park in Hamilton, New Zealand skipper Kane Williamson won the toss and decided to bowl first against India.

Shikhar Dhawan’s India will try to even the series against Kane Williamson’s New Zealand in the second game at Seddon Park in Hamilton after a humiliating loss in the first ODI in Auckland. Tom Latham produced an undefeated 145-run innings in the opening One-Day International in Auckland, while skipper Kane Williamson added an incredible 94 runs without being out. With seven wickets remaining, the Kiwis easily won the first of the three ODIs to take a 1-0 series lead.

Of all the teams playing in the current World Cup Super League, New Zealand has played in the second-fewest ODIs (16) of any nation. However, they may overtake India as the leader in the rankings with only one more victory.

Given that they have won all 13 of their ODI games at home, the chances are in their favour.

India is still seeking a sixth bowling option in the meanwhile. They also lack experience in the lower middle order due to the absence of Hardik Pandya, Ravindra Jadeja, and Axar Patel from their roster for this series. The top six hitters who participated in Auckland did not bowl.

Kane Williamson, the captain of New Zealand, said: “We are going to have a bowl.” Our seamers are hoping to acquire any assistance they can because the surface has been partially covered. Today, Adam Milne is being replaced by Michael Bracewell, and we are playing the extra-slow option.

He (Southee) is putting up impressive numbers across all platforms and breaking a few records in the process; he is a really unique player for us.

India captain Shikhar Dhawan stated, “We would have bowled first as there is moisture in the pitch,” at the time of the toss. We must maintain our optimistic attitude and go for the runs even if the wicket was seaming during the first 10-15 overs of the last game. There were 2 changes. Sanju Samson is replaced by Deepak Hooda and Deepak Chahar replaces Shardul Thakur. We just need a 10% improvement to see a significant difference, and we must be a little bit smarter while death bowling.

Kane Williamson, Daryl Mitchell, Tom Latham, Glenn Phillips, Mitchell Santner, Michael Bracewell, Matt Henry, Tim Southee, and Lockie Ferguson make up New Zealand’s starting XI.

Shubman Gill, Shreyas Iyer, Rishabh Pant, Suryakumar Yadav, Deepak Hooda, Washington Sundar, Deepak Chahar, Umran Malik, Arshdeep Singh, and Yuzvendra Chahal make up India’s starting XI.