Congress, 18 other opposition parties to boycott new Parliament building inauguration

24 May, 2023 | Anupam Shrivastav

New Parliament Top News

Invitation of the inauguration of newly built parliament have been sent to various political leaders across the country in both physical an digital format.

In a joint statement issued by Congress and 18 other opposition parties have declared a boycott of f the new Parliament building inauguration.

Congress and 18 other opposition parties on Wednesday issued a joint statement to boycott the inauguration of the new Parliament building on May 28.

“Undemocratic acts are not new to the Prime Minister, who has relentlessly hollowed out the Parliament. Opposition Members of Parliament have been disqualified, suspended, and muted when they raised the issues of the people of India.” the opposition parties stated in a joint statement. When opposition members of Parliament voiced concerns concerning the people of India, they were disqualified, suspended, and silenced.

Further, the statement said that MPs from the Treasury benches have disturbed Parliament. Many contentious bills, especially the three agriculture bills, have been approved with little debate, and Parliamentary Committees have been effectively defunct.

The opposition parties have said that the new Parliament building was constructed at huge expenditure during a once-in-a-century epidemic with no consultation with the people of India or MPs, for whom it appears to be being built.

“When the soul of democracy has been sucked out from the Parliament, we find no value in a new building. We announce our collective decision to boycott the inauguration of the new Parliament building,” the statement said.

Echoing the response of the opposition parties’ objections to Prime Minister Narendra Modi inaugurating the new Parliament building, Shiv Sena (UBT) leader Sanjay Raut said on Wednesday that the party will boycott the ceremony on May 28.

Shiv Sena (UBT) leader Sanjay Raut told, “All opposition parties have decided to boycott the inauguration of the new Parliament building on May 28 and we will also do the same.” Rashtriya Janata Dal (RJD) has also announced that it will boycott the inauguration.

Manoj Jha, RJD Rajya Sabha MP, stated that the entire Parliament Building inauguration need a course correction while Bihar Deputy Chief Minister Tejashwi Yadav double-downed the opposition’s stand on the boycott. “We will boycott this (the inauguration of the new Parliament building),” Bihar Deputy CM said.

K Keshava Rao, MP of the Bharat Rashtra Samithi (BRS), stated that while the party has not yet decided, it is unlikely to attend the ceremony. “We have not taken any decision yet, we are yet to take a call. It is unlikely that we will attend but we will announce our decision tomorrow,” K Keshava Rao, BRS MP said.

“NCP will not attend the inaugural function of the New Parliament Building, the party has decided to stand with other like-minded opposition parties on this issue,” the Nationalist Congress Party (NCP) spokesperson said.

The new Parliament building’s opening will also be boycotted by the Viduthalai Chiruthaigal Katchi (VCK) while Dravida Munnetra Kazhagam (DMK) MP Tiruchi Siva also confirmed that they will join the inauguration boycott. “Dmk also to boycott parliament inauguration,” he said.

According to reports, invitations to the opening of the new Parliament building on May 28 have been given to various figures around the country, including the past Speakers and Chairmen of the Lok Sabha and Rajya Sabha, respectively.

Opposition parties unite on the topic of Boycott of the new Parliament inauguration ceremony

The Communist Party of India (Marxist) has told that it will boycott the function as well. Dr. John Brittas, Rajya Sabha MP of the CPI(M), verified the news to the media Meanwhile, Sitaram Yechury, general secretary of the CPI(M), accused PM Modi of “bypassing” the President. “Modi bypassed the President when the foundation stone for the new Parliament building was laid. Now too at the inauguration. Unacceptable. Constitution Art 79: “There shall be a Parliament for the Union which shall consist of the President and two Houses…” Yechuri tweeted.

“Only when the President of India summons the Parliament can it meet? The President begins, annually, Parliamentary functioning by addressing the joint session. The first business Parliament transacts each year is the “Motion of Thanks” to the President’s Address,” his tweet read.

Before that, the Aam Aadmi Party (AAP) and Trinamool Congress (TMC) indicated that they will boycott PM Modi’s opening of the new Parliament building. “Aam Aadmi Party will boycott the inauguration ceremony of the new Parliament building on 28th May. AAP has taken this decision in view of the questions being raised regarding the matter of not inviting the President to the inauguration ceremony,” AAP said.

Derek O’Brien, the TMC MP took to Twitter and announced party’s decision. “Parliament is not just a new building; it is an establishment with old traditions, values, precedents and rules – it is the foundation of Indian democracy. PM Modi doesn’t get that For him, Sunday’s inauguration of the new building is all about I, ME, MYSELF. So count us out,” he tweeted.

MPs from both Houses have received invitations in both physical and digital versions. President Droupadi Murmu and Vice President Jagdeep Dhankhar are expected to issue congratulatory messages on the occasion of the new Parliament building’s opening on May 28, according to reports.

The current Parliament building was built in 1927 and will soon be over 100 years old. As per the current requirements, there was a lack of space in this building. There was also a lack of convenient arrangements for MPs to sit in both Houses, which hampered the effectiveness of the Members’ job.

Given the aforementioned, both the Lok Sabha and the Rajya Sabha voted resolutions requesting the government to create a new Parliament building. As a result, Prime Minister Shri Narendra Modi lay the foundation stone for the new Parliament building on December 10, 2020. The newly constructed Parliament building was constructed in record speed and using high-grade materials.

The new Parliament building can hold a total of 888 members to sit in Lok Sabha out of which is way more than the current capacity of 543 members. The joint sessions of both houses will take place in Lok Sabha Chamber.

Read Also : DK Shivakumar takes oath as Dy CM, bows on Vidhana Soudha steps

Follow us : Twitter