Opposition up in arms against ‘unparliamentary words’ report usage

14 July, 2022 | Pravina Srivastava

befunky collage 2 770333 D1Q5A0mv National

A report from Lok Sabha Secretariat that revealed a list of phrases that have been labelled as "unparliamentary"

A report from Lok Sabha Secretariat that revealed a list of phrases that have been labelled as “unparliamentary” has drawn criticism from a number of prominent members of Parliament. The list is released just before Parliament’s monsoon session, which starts on July 18.

Many terms have been outlawed, including “corruption,” “corrupt,” “Jumlajeevi,” “tanashah,” “Dictator,” “black,” and “Khalistani.”

Senior lawmakers Jairam Ramesh Derek O’Brien, Randeep Surjewala, and others purpose of such a notification has been questioned, according to Priyanka Chaturvedi.

In a tweet, Derek O’Brien stated: “The session will start soon. MPs were granted a gag order. Now, when making a speech in Parliament, we won’t be able to utilize the following fundamental words: Ashamed. Abused. Betrayed. Corrupt. Hypocrisy. Incompetent. I’ll make use of every word here. Dismiss me. defending democracy.”

Lok Sabha Secretariat has created a list of such terms and expressions that have occasionally been deemed unparliamentary by the Chair in various Legislative bodies in India as well as in Commonwealth Parliaments for easy access in the future.

The current compilation additionally includes references to terms and expressions that the Indian Lok Sabha, Rajya Sabha, and state legislatures deemed to be unparliamentary in 2021.

Keywords are used to group the entries. To enable rapid and simple retrieval by users, the keywords are chosen from the pertinent expressions/words and then sorted in alphabetical order.

Some of these terms might not seem improper unless they are read in the context of the other phrases used during legislative sessions.

However, the Rajya Sabha chairman and Lok Sabha Speaker shall make the ultimate decision about the removal of these phrases.